You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Does Ego Complex Stagnate the Growth of Human Civilization?

in #philosophy8 years ago (edited)

Good points.

The ego = "I" = self. You can't exist without an ego. The issue is of positive or negative ego manifestations, positive or negative expressions of self, of you/I. There is no "ego death" because that is death of yourself and it's impossible because there is always an I-self-ego from birth to death. I refer to it as an ego-personality-identity construct, that is formed and conditioned from birth to death, but we can alter, affect and change who we are, I, me, self, ego, because it is malleable despite having certain rigidity.

So when you "try" to correct someone's comment from " According to me" into "according to my ego", you're just saying the same thing, but you think you're being "clever" and making a point, but you're not really. Undertanding this, I would say to do so is an error in comprehension, and to express that failure of understanding as an attempt to "correct" someone who is right, is a negative ego manifestation to try to make someone wrong when they are actually right, and then you are wrong. It's from a lack of understanding the meaning of the word ego, which is the self, I, you, me, etc. Etymology has a lot to teach us.

Egoism, egotism, egocentric are all qualities of self that can manifest. Ego is both positive and negative in potential manifesting qualities.

Egoism is like solipsism: 1) nothing exists outside of self, no truth; 2) if things do exist, if truth exists, then no way to know anything about it, no way to know any truth; 3) if truth exists, and can be known, then there's no way to communicate it to others. This is a self-deluded negative ego trap, a fixation on self. It's a focus on self, and can lead to exclusion of concern for others, a focus on egotism, too much "I' and not enough "you", which is another "I"-ness that isn't me. Leads to selfishness, self-centered.

Egotism i s"I" this, "I" that, too much focus on the self. Pretty much like above, but subtle differences. Leads to, again, self-conceit, selfishness, focus on "I" and not "you".

Egocentric is the same thing, having your center on yourself, which can be positive since we are all at the center of ourselves... duh right? But in a negative, the focal center is on "I" and exclusion of others. Selfishness, self-centered i.e. center = centric.

They are variations of words that essentially speak of the same meaning that can be slightly differentiated.

Take care. Peace. Upvoted.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62449.67
ETH 2429.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58