Brandolini's Principle, Nature and A Peripatetic Existence

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)

20180121_143043.jpg

Lately, I have been thinking a lot about Brandolini's principle ("The amount of effort necessary to refute bullshit is an order of magnitude bigger than to produce it.") Bullshit seems to be a problem that invades much of our contemporary existence. It permeates our social media, politics, academics and even our personal relationships and everyday acquaintances. Honestly, I have found myself overwhelmed with the amount of energy it takes to be well-informed (and sane) in this day and age.

20180121_144146.jpg

Given this rather troublesome malaise of modernity, I find myself at odds in how to maintain a relatively hopeful and optimistic outlook on the future. On the surface the world appears to be an indifferent, hollow place and that humans are bent on accelerating its final and ultimate demise. We, for all intensive purposes, function in a web of misinformation and an insipid cult of opinion. The internet has done two wonderful and equally malevolent things. It has 1. given everyone a voice and 2. given everyone a voice (Sigh, the paradox of vice and virtue).Where do we go from here and how do we combat the constant barrage of social media, personal critiques and combative politics?

20180121_143824.jpg

One thing that I do find quiets my mind and gives me a momentary experience of tranquility are my daily walks in nature. It seems by going for a walk everyday I somehow cleanse myself of the EMF and ever-present white noise and chatter that seems inherently embedded from the moment we wake up until we lie down to sleep. Many great thinkers have also been advocates of a daily walk for good physical and mental health. Kierkegaard once said: Above all, do not lose your desire to walk. Everyday, I walk myself into a state of well-being and walk away from every illness. I have walked myself into my best thoughts, and I know of no thought so burdensome that one cannot walk away from it. " So, if you are feeling overwhelmed skip the booze and junk food and try going for a walk (no assembly required).

Sort:  

Your right, BS is everywhere and doesn't do any good. I dont do much on Social Media, I got a facebook account because my family kept pushing me to do it. I never did much with it. I joined Steem because I love cryptocurrency but I try to keep the BS down to a minimum here. You have to see through the crap to get the picture.

Hey @adamdonmez. Social media is both a blessing and curse and I guess it's up to us to decide how it will shape us and in what ways we will use it. I am still learning about cryptocurrency as it appears to be a rather large learning curve or perhaps I am just a slow learner? At any rate, I will get there. :) Thanks for taking the time to read and comment!

More or less the same challenes is what i have in mind most of the time, in an effort to find the best means to connunicate with the most amount of clarity. AS there is so manny layers of, yes BS, put simply.

BS generated seemingly as a means to simplify things that shouldnt be simplified. And in some cases BS that complicates simple concepts.

In a way Language itself confuses people today.

There is a whole online course that was designed by two college professors called Calling Bullshit available online . See it here:

http://callingbullshit.org

Nature gives peace to man, and immortalizing these moments falls into photographic machines.

Yes, nature is a wonderful thing. I do like sharing photos from my walks as it seems to help shape my perspective. Also, I like to show folks a little part of my world and how I experience it. Thanks for reading and commenting @mrskatie

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97