Learning Game / App Design From Shigeru MiyamotosteemCreated with Sketch.

in #philosophy8 years ago

Learn the fundamentals of something, and then try to apply it elsewhere to make it better - that has always been something universally applicable by anyone in any situation they find themselves in. Although I have yet to really do anything with my Electrical & Computer Systems Engineering certificate since graduation, it's just something that I do not regret going through. Its fundamentals are invaluable.

In this interesting Youtube video by Vox, the essay talks about the game design philosophies of Mario's creator - Shigeru Miyamoto. Something to be learned here, especially for game and app designers looking out to find a break into mainstream adoption. On that note, I think the recent post by Steemit Inc regarding trimming out bulk of Steem's code and structure, opting for the KISS (Keep It Simple, Stupid) method is a great first step into making things easier for the network.

Personally, I like the Vox channel on Youtube for non-political stuff. I'd definitely recommend a subscription too. Here's their channel for your perusal: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCLXo7UDZvByw2ixzpQCufnA


Sort:  

I like a lot of Vox's stuff. It's really good. Have you watched Crash Course Gaming on YouTube? I love all the Crash Course stuff (especially philosophy and world history) and that series is no exception.

Oh nope, looks great - thanks for the recommendation man! Plenty of good channels on Youtube.. just need to find them. It also seems like the tube has botched their "recommendation" bots recently..

Some of my favorites:
Crash Course, SciShow, The School of Life, potholer54, SmarterEveryDay, PBS Space Time, Stated Clearly, VSauce, VSauce2, Kurzgesagt, Veritasium

I did a post months ago with some summaries as well.

He is also the creator of Zelda and Star Fox series of games. Lots of fond memories of playing his creations when I was younger.

Definitely a legend. I've somehow never touched those games. It's funny I never heard of those until I grew out of the SNES phase..

Whaaaaaat?? You never played A Link to the Past? Some great puzzles in that game.

Nope, I've never touched a single game of Zelda. More of a PC / Sony guy lol

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 14. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $10.34 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 14 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56677.48
ETH 2329.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36