You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Absurdity of Life without God

in #philosophy8 years ago

I have heard William Lane Craig's point of view before, and although I should have read this entire piece before commenting, I'll just say that I don't necessarily agree with the initial premises.

the answers that came back were not exhilarating, but dark and terrible. "You are the accidental by-product of nature, a result of matter plus time plus chance. There is no reason for your existence. All you face is death."

I'm not sure I find this news to be all that dark. Maybe it makes the time before death all the more precious. Maybe it fascinates us to think that we can actually come to understand how nature works. Maybe we make our own reason for our own existence.

This existential angst -- know that we are going to die -- I think it is something people can come to terms with, either with or without a belief in God. And believing in God so that you will live forever is not an automatic balm for your spirit, as when you die you may discover that you picked the wrong God to have faith in, and therefore not receive the reward you hoped for.

I have seen several articles on Religion on Steemit as of late, and I hope we can all discuss the topics presented in a calm professional manner and still remain friends. Best wishes, my fellow Steemship operators!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56697.29
ETH 2390.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29