You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Finding Philosophy in Unlikely Places: "The Riddle of Steel" and What it Says About Self-Reliance

in #philosophy6 years ago

"Maybe but when I look back on the figures, the characters, and the stories that have affected me, they are not usually not works of high art, or renowned intellectuals, or well studies 'heroes' but their messages, I think, are what matters and sometimes one can find good philosophy in these unlikely places."

I agree. The stream I still cannot resist is the old LA comedy team Firesign Theater. One of my favorites was: "Everything You Know Is Wrong." I know they were most popular for "Nick Danger," which was very good, but I have a tendency to go back to the shadows of the early '70s Firesign rather than the late 60's. "We Are All Bozos on This Bus" from '71 is very nice. They were a very big influence on Standup comics like Bill Hicks. I really miss him.

Sort:  

Nice. For me I think it was Carlin that provoked a lot of thought. Then I got into a lot of the Alt-Comedians who got big in the 90's. A bunch of them have kind of fizzled out but I still enjoy David Cross and Doug Stanhope quite a bit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64151.19
ETH 2773.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65