You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Ouroboric Tailbiting of Egoic Awareness

in #philosophy7 years ago

But a pattern or a code is only really information if there is someone to decipher the code and if it has meaning to this receiver.

This is as far as I needed to read. Of course I'm absolutely going to read the rest. It just got me excited, as I've been writing about this same idea in my fiction. Here's a quote from an unreleased rough draft of a chapter from Merwin In The Multiverse:

And neither was the information really ever in the machines. Sure, 01000001 was "a," but "a" had no meaning to a machine. It didn't exist to a machine. And any word with "a" in it was just a collection of voltage differences to the machine. Sure, the machine had learned to associate faces with names, even to create art. But it always needed human input to let it know it was doing it right. Humans always had the final say, because they were the ones with conscious experiential feedback.

If you don't mind, I'd like to put in a link to this article in this chapter when I post it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68383.66
ETH 2646.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72