You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Importance of Work for Our Identity, Meaning and Purpose in Life

in #philosophy6 years ago

I am bit oldschool at heart. I definitely want to succeed in professional life, as that will be a sign to me that I achieved something during the time I spend on earth. So I agree with you that work life provides purpose and self worth.

However, i will also derive value and satisfaction if I dont succeed but someone succeeds by learning from my failures or if i can mentor someone towards success or achieve whatever satisfaction they want to achieve.

I also find purpose from keeping alive some of the skills that are dying thanks to automation, and its neither work nor a hobby for me. I think some of these basics skills such as fixing things, cooking or even driving are slowly dying as innovation and economies of scale drive prices lower.

And i think people feel depressed once they have no work because i agree, a large chunk of their life that gave them a reason to fight, do something is gone. I can see that with my parents. Its like the world stamped them with "you're only good enough to die a slow death now."

Again, very insightful.

Sort:  

Damn that sucks, your parents should try to find meaning doing something else. I have found the greatest meaning in pursuit of truth and figuring out the world and how to solve problems: philosophy, psychology and morality :)

Thats what i tell them. Try and learn about or do things that you wanted to do when you were raising kids. Hopefully they will find meaning like you did. Thanks for the advice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 68636.49
ETH 3719.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75