You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What would you do? Moral choice question.

in #philosophy7 years ago

I apply utilitarian thought and divert the train, although utilitarianism is not universally applicable to all ethical dilemmas in my view.

But the details matter, what if it takes place in a society with vigilante justice and I just diverted the train from five mass shooters into a child? I think the core issue is that I do not believe reducing the net loss of life is always the most moral course of action.

In actuality I would likely pull the wrong lever and make the situation worse somehow, I have a knack for that sort of thing.

Sort:  

I know that feeling!

I believe underneath it all that so long as you are authentically, mindfully trying to make the right decision here, you'd be acting morally, even if you pulled the incorrect lever.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63186.04
ETH 3392.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50