Words to Live by – 3Gs and 7Cs

in #philosophy7 years ago

IMG_5562.jpg

A friend and I got into a conversation this week and she was telling me about her three Gs for life. I had some Cs. Decided to write them all down and hope they can be useful to someone else. They all seem to be connected and they all seem to overlap. In summary, the answer is 42. Starting with the 3Gs as they are more succinct. And what does the photo of Sam the Corgi have to do with any of this? I do not know, but I am sure he would agree.

Growth

This means to try and make a positive improvement in who you are and what you can do. Do not think “I am too old” or “I am too ____,” but rather each day is a new day to improve on who you are. How can you grow today?

Gratitude

Studies show that people who are thankful are happier. Instead of focusing on what you do not have, try to see what you do have and be thankful.

Giving

The last G is for giving. To give is really to receive. Do you feel better when you do a good deed for someone or when someone does a good deed for you?


Onto the Cs. The first four I have seen associated with educational philosophies. I am using them, but also adding a few of my own at the end. The purpose of life can be to learn as much as possible, to help as many others as possible or whatever you choose, but I am hoping whatever it is that these will help.

Creativity

You are unique. Are you more or less unique than anyone else? It does not matter. But to solve problems you need creative thinking. Music, art, literature, a walk in the woods … these will all boost your creativity. Many people like travel because it helps them look at old problems in new ways.

Critical Thinking

If I only had a brain. Can critical thinking also involve emotional thinking? Perhaps, but see my thoughts on connection below. Critical thinking I believe is being able to apply facts to a problem so as to solve that problem. As an ENFJ, I am sometime jealous of ENTJs as they seem to think more rationally. But I think listening to your instincts and using common-sense is a form of critical thinking. So is calculus.

Communication

Seems to work to keep marriages together. Rather than hold a grudge, better to communicate with your partner. Your partner can be a friend, a business partner or a romantic partner. If you do not ask for something, how do you expect to get it?

Collaboration

No man is an island. Whatever your work or passion, you might well be happier if you have more people to collaborate with to make your projects a success. Learning is social, life is social. So collaborate.

Connection

Just like wolves, humans are social animals. If you are finding yourself every lonely, join a group to make new friends. I remember my first day at McGill not knowing anyone. My dad told me all I need is one friend. I went to the debate club and found my first friend as we soon began to debate each other.

Courtesy

Have you noticed the decline in courtesy on Twitter? The snark-factor is so high in political discussions – it is hard to have a debate on the issues when people are not being courteous. When people are civil, civil discourse increases. We need more civil discourse, so let’s get some more courtesy.

Calmness

When in doubt, remain calm. Take a breath, drink some water, look at the stars. Meditation works for a lot of people. When in doubt, sometimes the best thing to do is nothing. Other times, write a blog post. Since life is short, it is best to take a breath and a break rather than to let things get heated. Do not rush, take your time. Take a walk to clear your head. We usually imagine problems as bigger than they really are and by the time you are back from a walk, you will be more calm and focused.

Please let me know what I missed in the comments. And thank you for reading.

Sort:  

welcome to steemit jeffkurzon

enjoy and happy steemit !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55948.41
ETH 2523.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31