You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If reality were only a simulation how would WE the simulants be able to know for sure?

in #philosophy8 years ago

Utterly fantastic. But everyone that explores this topic always seems to forget about one movie. "The Thirteenth Floor" which, thinking back kind of takes the same path you did. Basically the main character tries to drive across the county and gets to a point where the simulation begins to breakdown. Again fantastic post, glad I'm following you.

Sort:  

I do believe I saw that movie at one point. Been a long time. Maybe I'll have to watch it again, I don't remember if it was any good. :) I think traveling far distance might be hard to do. Yet I am wondering if that edge of infinity might be closer to us. Just keep looking smaller and smaller. Though that is what the Large Hadron Collider partially exists for I believe. :)

Interesting read. I didn't like 13th floor as well as Dark City, also a movie about simulated reality. Also, IMHO a simulated reality is more likely than the concept of solipsism.

I liked The 13th Floor, but I don't really remember Dark City. I know I've been told about it but can't say I remember watching it. Also I have to agree that simulated reality is more likely than solipsism. Solipsism just seems too conceded, "I'm the only real consciousness." BAH, I say!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 54506.20
ETH 2881.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.03