You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Colours of Perception

in #philosophy7 years ago

Wow! this definitely is one of the best posts I ever found about colours, I feel colours that way also in people. The way they act, talk, look and listen, give me like a colour, which I then form my first impression. I am never good at explaining why I do or see that I just do. But after reading this I do understand why I have certain coloured friends or why I class people in colours. We even used the power of colours in a refugee centre here, because the people there have a 100 different languages and they all have a story to tell but do not find anyone to talk to that actually understand how they feel. We did a workshop for the woman to make a pillow, this was mostly to get them socializing. The woman that did come in had to pic up a piece of cloth in certain colours, that was for us the opening to try to understand their feelings. Later on, we also asked with hands and feet :-), where for they wanted that pillow, was it to sit up straight? Or just to put your head on, or for some, it was just something to hold. It all helped to get the right way of treating them.
looking, hearing, touching, tasting, smelling the five main senses that we have got we have to translate to seeing, listening, feeling, only tasting and smelling are intuitive I think although also formed by memories, the emotions it creates are changeable. What a shame we can not resteem this anymore :-(

Sort:  

Thx for your reply @janine-ariane. Nice to read your appreciation. I really like the way you guys worked in the refugee center. I am sure it is a good and secure way of starting a conversation with traumatised people. I did he same kind of thing when I taught English in Thailand.

Yes, I agree, it is a shame I can't resteem this again. The only way to get it in the picture again is if you mention the post in other posts with a link to my essay post. So, I challenge you to write a post about your work at the refugee center, how you use colours, everyday items like a pillow and handicrafts, mix them up and turn them into a way to communicate about really difficult topics like war and descruction. Whether and where you'd mention my post is in your hands, as is the challenge itself :-)

that is a challenge , Ireally have the idea I never can explain it really well. But I will try once uponthe time :-)

Kan ook in het Nederlands ;-)

Hier is de Nederlandstalige versie

Maar voel je niet verplicht, hè? :-D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60788.02
ETH 2632.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63