You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Intelligence, what is it?

in #philosophy7 years ago

Hey man, awesome custom logo and breaks, how'd you whip those up?

In regards to the article: One thing I've wondered about is whether or not we aren't just reacting. Sure we have memories, but isn't a memory just a thought about the past? Sometimes memories will pop up without warning, things we aren't trying to think of we end up thinking about. Memories we have differ from other people's memories of the same event. Maybe we are just reacting to thoughts and experiences as best we know and it's far a far more complex set of variables than creatures with different brains.

Obviously we are more intelligent in categories we consider intelligence to be applied to like the arts and sciences, but each creature is the best at what it does, its intelligence is built in as survival, the body itself is intelligence. It's existence is its art. Whales and dolphins have big brains with larger centers for emotion, they may be as/more intelligent than us in certain ways that we don't understand yet.

Maybe I'm making no sense, just trying to challenge the assumption that we are superior in intelligence. I definitely get what you're saying and enjoyed the article. I'm following, my VP is down now but I'll check your stuff more in the future!

Sort:  

I had a similar thought. Mabye we are just reacting... and I realized we are. But the free will lies in the ability to decide, what are we going to react to. We can choose not to react. You are what you pay attention to.

Sure, the whales and dolphins do have huge brains, but do they have high ability to abstract?

(You are making a lot of sense to me. The comments under this article are almost as interesting as the article itself :D )

I'm not sure how dolphins and whales are experiencing, they definitely have different capabilities with the tools at their disposal. I'd be very interested to learn. I definitely think there is more going on with humanity, there's some intangible intelligence that does allow us to not react. How can someone not flinch when burning to death:

Thích_Quảng_Đức_self-immolation.jpg

One thing I read or listened to the other day was about how we as humans are separated from our true nature sometime around childhood and enter the egoic state. So our consciousness separates from the material. Then we can realize our true nature and re-embody our incarnation and have true understanding and intelligence. This was something from Rupert Spira and is getting a bit on the spiritual side, but spoke to me nonetheless so I thought I'd share.

How can someone not flinch when burning to death:

Maybe they are just use to it they don’t react anymore.

I think childhood is a very special fase, we are more pure at that age. I even had a promonition when I was in 6th grade. I know it’s difficult to believe, but I saw the future in one of my dreams (it was just a goal in the champions league finale, but it was the future nonetheless).

So I agree with you in that there are more things going on we are not aware of.

But I also believe we will be discovering this things as science and technology evolve.

just trying to challenge the assumption that we are superior in intelligence

I think this is not an assumption. I believe the fact we have superior creations (like computers) is a proof of our superior intelligence in comparison with animals.

The ability to have complex creations determine the intelligence don’t you think?

Ps: about the custom logo and breaks you can chat me up on discord if you need help bud

I'm not sure that it does, where is the intelligence in creating nukes? Is the ability to create true intellignece, or just the potential for greater intelligence. Don't get me wrong, I think we are have a different degree of intelligence that our bodies and minds support, I do think we are more advanced in many ways to everything else on the planet, I'm just not sure what that is due to. We have an incredible ability to communicate and imagine and create, the human body is excellent for these things. I'm just not sure you can define intelligence as the ability to create. Food for thought.

and thanks, I may take you up on that!

Creating weapons of mass destruction might be necessary to stop crazy humans (totalitarians, religious fanatics) to make an attack. And the science behind nukes is mind blowing, so there is certainly intelligence behind that.

If intelligence is not the ability to create, then what is intelligence for you? Perhaps comprehending complex things (without necessarily creating them) is also a prove of intelligence.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59433.20
ETH 2442.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44