Socrates and the Cave musician

in #philosophy4 years ago

~

Philosophical fables are essential tools to help an individual open up their minds eye to the universal light. A strong comparison is always helpful to develop a separate perspective. At first when i read the "The Allegory of the Cave" it seemed confusing and daunted me a little bit. Once I began to interpret it, thinking about it from a different view I was then able to see even more meaning behind the ideas that Plato once thought.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

psychedelic_peace_sign_stickers-p217582589258020992b2o35_400.jpg Know Thyself.....

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

When i began playing music it was similar to living in a cave with no sense of a real understanding. I heard noise, some made me feel good and some, not so much. So naturally I began to try and learn more about what is contributing to these shadowy mysterious sounds. This gave way to me fumbling around and struggling to eventually defining my own meanings to apply to the art of playing and feeling music. Along with other self taught cave musicians around me. After awhile I began to feel that i knew everything. That I was talented and knew how to prove my understanding of making noise in any situation.I invested more time in this pursuit then anyone around me and I had tons of experience in my own domain.

When i began learning proper theory, technique and method it felt like i was being dragged out of my own little cave, suddenly all these new chords styles and ways of interpreting music became apparent. I became aware, although I was well on my way to being an exceptional player, I am in no position to reject new ideas that are not my own. These ideas are in fact quite old and have proven to be a very reliable interpretations of music and understanding noise. Both it's creation and the ability to communicate your ideas effectively. My musical eyes are still adjusting to this realization today.

Every once in awhile i still run into a self taught musician who believes they are extremely good at music and that they do not need to understand the theory, skills and technique that are necessary to communicate with fellow noise creators and that it is not important. I only laugh to myself inside, because i too was a cavemusican once. Ignorant to the truth that more perspectives and facets of understanding are in fact necessary for a soul to grow. After all, isn't the true reward of living life the healthy challenge of acquiring all understanding sought out?

-Brado :)
drop by and follow
https://steemit.com/@IsThatArt

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61979.42
ETH 2916.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63