You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I am an Anarchist

in #philosophy7 years ago

I understand the anarchist premise. The problem is when society sees or hears the word anarchy or anarchist it's almost as ugly as the word:

arsonist

Which is terrible and completely non-related...

That's probably one of the reasons the moment someone mentions the word anarchy or anarchist people shut off their ears and minds and can't listen to the intelligent points that might come next.

We need a non-taboo word to explain the same thing that mainstream media and society in general would listen too... The english language re-invents itself over time... This word might need a version 2.0 somehow.

It's just my thoughts anyway. :)

Sort:  

You may be right about that. I've been told that before, and I was sceptic. But it may very well be time for a new word. At least for the time being. And it's not just statists to blame for misunderstanding. Enough violent psychos have unjustifiably called themselves anarchists to give people a wrong impression.

I think Voluntaryist is a little easier on the ears, but I don't ever shy away from saying I'm an Anarchist. The more we bring it up with intelligent arguments, exposing more people to it, the more knowledgeable they will become.

I think voluntaryist is close. It has a positive connotation to it. However those that want no part of the system... voluntaryist won't work. :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57198.53
ETH 2362.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40