You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are You Living For Temporary Relief From Your Mind? (Part 2)

in #philosophy7 years ago

it makes the Buddhist trace all suffering back to some broken erroneous view of the world, because he so hates pain, that there's no way he can trace it to truth, he has to make pain a result of delusion, just like a person in love with his wife tries to explain away all indications of infidelity.

I can very much relate to this view of Buddhism. I've often had similar thoughts, however, having practiced vipassana (a form of meditation) I can say that the principles of buddhism have been very helpful to my mental wellbeing over the years.. the whole idea is to observe, not to blame oneself for the suffering. By observing sensations as they are not clinging or resisting, it allows the mind \ hearts healing process to go on as it should. Which can also assist quite a bit in transitioning from addicted states. Just observe, just observe :)/

Sort:  

Exactly, we must allow ourselves to heal as opposed to getting involved in the goings on of the mind.

True. I myself meditate (just 10 min a day, before bed!), and I love many aspects of Buddhism: basically all the aspects I see as philosophical rather than religious.

well, as is the case with religions. it very quickly diverted from the practices that Gautama taught, because they were too hard :-D

Here is my take on it based upon my understanding of qabalah. There are three pillars in the tree of live in which the 10 spheres are organized. Middle Pillar is the pillar of equilibrium. Right side is related to "force" and the left side is related to form. so all of "god" and reality is divided between force form and equilibrium. without getting too much deeper than that, because it would require a lot of text and time, qabalists work with the positive and negative forces(in a polarity sort of way, masculin feminine ect) to work their way up back to the all, while learning how to master those forces. While buddhism as taught by gautema is a middle pillar religion where the intention is to work directly back to the divine without stopping about to play with the forces so much.

I hope that wasn't too general to make some sense of. I will have to blog about it sometime when I get around to it for easy reference.

Yeah that's too airy for me. I practically need a definition for every single word you used! :P

Ikr it's one of my interests that I need to write about in order to learn it enough to be conversant

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64151.19
ETH 2773.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65