The wisdom of Seneca

in #philosophy7 years ago

I've read a number of books that i can say have shaped my life to what it is today in some way & opened my eyes to perhaps things that I wouldn't have considered. I plan to review the most influential ones that I can say have had massive impact on my life, in the near future.

But with the closing of the weekend, and start of another 'working week', I thought it would be good to share a snippet of Seneca with you all - a short piece that really cuts to the heart of his philosophy.

Seneca.jpg

“Wild animals run from the dangers they actually see, and once they have escaped them worry no more. We however are tormented alike by what is past and what is to come. A number of our blessings do us harm, for memory brings back the agony of fear while foresight brings it on prematurely. No one confines his unhappiness to the present."

Imagine if we could truly live in the present, and not be ruled by the story of our past, or the illusion of the future. What truly would be possible for us all, and what would we allow in?

Sort:  

Thanks! 'Seneca - letters from a Stoic' if you follow just 5% of the principles, you'll win at life.

5% sounds like a doable amount. I will look into it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65070.55
ETH 3147.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55