You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Humans Are Not Smarter Than Other Forms Of Life, Just Different

in #philosophy7 years ago

Dude, I like your posts, especially your painting, but this one was a bad misstep. Mainly for the reasons lexiconical was pointing out.

That's just my opinion though, like most of this post was your opinion. From the word go, it sounded very self-help/hippy-free-love-ish. Which is fine, but I got the impression you wanted it to sound factual.

To compound matters, lexiconical owned you hard. Trust me, the referee stopped the fight ages ago coz you could no longer defend yourself.

Also "When you start judging other by their beliefs instead of their points, you lose the whole point in a discussion" - I see what you're saying here, and yes, anyone could come up with a brilliant idea, but you have to acknowledge that the willingness of others to ingest those ideas will depend on other factors concerning how they live and other things they've said. If someone tells you they believe the sky is red and then offers you stock tips, how likely are you to act, with your own money, on what they've said? I wager only if they're being driven around in a limousine and have a proven record of financial excellence. Otherwise, people are unlikely to take what they say seriously, and if they weren't crazy, they'd see that too. Your satanist source doesn't appear to have the same body of evidence/proven record of scholarship behind him.

Just my two cents.

Sort:  

Your two cents didn't provide any evidence. You can circle-jerk with lexiconical all you want but I can't see any argument from you or him? You guys are just being emotional forming ad-hominems.

If someone tells you they believe the sky is red and then offers you stock tips, how likely are you to act, with your own money, on what they've said?

Nikola Tesla was a hypochondriac with silly beliefs but expert in his field. Newton was religious and have very weird and crazy habits. Both offered solutions that brought humanity to a new era. In fact bring me any innovator and we will find something odd about them.

You need to try harder mate. If you judge people in life like you do in this debate..you are fucked royally

I wasn't intending to offer evidence. I believe I said I was offering my opinion. Which, I also believe, is simply what you were doing with your post.

Are you judging me by my beliefs now?

Tesla and Newton had the proven track records behind them that I described. In the example I used, the red-sky believer would be very rich and have a successful stock portfolio managed over many years; one can take financial advice from him. Your satanist does not appear to have that.

I would add that you seem quite emotional in your response...but I wouldn't want to upset you. ;-D

Tesla and Newton had the proven track records behind them that I described.

No they didn't. the track record came AFTER they made discoveries..hence why Telsa was often in thrown in the shadows..even until recently.

In the example I used, the red-sky believer would be very rich and have a successful stock portfolio managed over many years; one can take financial advice from him. Your satanist does not appear to have that.

what appears and what is, are two different things. He makes good philosophical arguments that none of you bothered to answer. you just attack his religious beliefs.

I am not emotional at all. You guys seem to be though since you offer no rational arguments against that guy other than ad hominems. ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62755.94
ETH 2446.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66