Do I Consider Myself Lucky?

in #philosophy6 years ago

download.jpeg

This is a question that got me thinking for a long while (I’m still thinking about it.) Well, here are my thoughts.

What does it mean to be lucky?

The Merriam-Webster Dictionary on my phone defines lucky as

producing a good result by chance

If I understand that definition, it means if I ever experience a good result by some coincidence, then I’m a lucky person. That’s simple and at the same time difficult. Here’s why…

I Am A Product Of Grace

I am not talking of grace in the religious sense (although if you are a religious person, that could apply). I am talking about the kindness I have received times without number from the people I’ve come in contact with.

My Family

I didn’t choose my family (And I don’t think they chose me either). However, I feel extremely lucky to have them. My parents are caring and constantly try their best to be supportive of the strange dude they gave birth to. My sister was very understanding when I told religion goodbye - as against the veiled threats of hell fire I got from others. My other siblings make me feel like the best elder brother in the entire universe.

These people have been at my side, even in times I chose to walk through hell. Of course we have our differences but they have been wonderful to me. Sometimes, I sit down and think about my family. I wonder if I’ve done anything to deserve them, their kindness, love and understanding. I think I am lucky in that regard.

My Friends

They say nerds rarely have friends. But I’ve had people put in their best for me. I’ve had friends fight my bullies and even my fears. I was introduced to Steemit by a friend who I also call brother. My journey in life and on Steemit has been made wonderful by friends. Every time I want to drown myself in my sorrows, I see friends around me. They are not there to pick me up; they are there to sit in my pit with me, to watch me shed those purifying tears and give me a hot bath of encouragement and love.

There was a time I didn’t have an internet enabled phone. One of my friends, who also didn’t have one, got an android phone from someone and gave it to me for free. He felt I could put it to better use. I don’t even borrow money from my friends. I simply state my predicament and they all rally to help. Sometimes, I feel they are being overprotective of me. But really, deep inside, I feel lucky to have them. Sometimes, I ask them why they are my friends. They tell me I’ve a good heart, have potentials and all. Well, to me, it is a great privilege.

The Universe

Sometimes I get thinking about the universe, about living, about being alive. They say the best thing in life is being alive, I don’t agree with that statement. But then, being alive is something of a privilege. This is probably something you don’t expect from an atheist but I feel grateful for life. I am happy to be alive and I want to remain this way as long as I can.

Being born into this world is a privilege. I mean, what are the odds? I don’t have the answers but I am grateful for the facts. I am alive and can enjoy the best things of life. For that I feel very lucky.

Life Is All About Cause And Effects

I believe in the law of causality. Of course, if some extremely skilled philosopher interviews me, I might flatter in defending my belief. But the fact remains, life is all about cause and effect. Sometimes, these causes are within your control; at other times, they aren’t. You can decide if you’re going to eat in your living room or your garden but you can’t decide if it should rain or not.

In a world like this, there is the need for a sense of responsibility, to realise that actions have consequences. In a world like that (A Sherlock Holmes kind of world), things don’t just happen. You might not be able to explain them but they do.

For instance, someone goes for a delicate surgery and makes it out alive. Everyone comments how lucky they are, that it’s a miracle and all. But certain things happened; certain causes influenced the results.

With a world-view like that, I’m very skeptical of luck or chance. What is coincidence is simply the result of actions you are not aware of.

Do I Feel Lucky Or Not?

Well, in a very large sense, I feel extremely lucky to be alive, to have the kind of family and friends I have around me. I feel a deep sense of gratitude within me. But I try to make good choices with my ‘luck’. If I win this contest, it would be because my response strikes a cord within you. I won’t be able to explain it so I’ll call it luck.

In essence, if I win the contest, I think I’ll consider myself the luckiest of all the participants.

This is my entry for the The Masters' Contest # 2 by @nomad-magus .

Thanks for reading

Blessings.

[Image Source: Wikipedia Commons]

Sort:  

Congratulations!,@iamthegray Your post has been upvoted by Reach Out, which is proudly sponsored by @eturnerx. Our goal is to support Nigerian minnows on Steemit. Join our discord group https://discord.gg/NWAkKfn

Benefactor : @bleepcoin

We also invite you to the @eosng community [https://discord.gg/aDQ59s7]

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

This publication has subscribed to the writing contest thanks to @iamthegray.

For more information, click here!!!!

See the Minnowhelper contest conditions here

Do you know, you can also earn passive income after every bidding round simply by delegating your Steem Power to @minnowhelper?
you can delegate by clicking following links: 10 SP, 100 SP, 500 SP, 1000 SP or Another amount

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65566.66
ETH 3559.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48