Sort:  

EDIT MADE: Apologies! My head was in my manga comics!! Yes, I've seen the movie. I really wish they'd cast an Asian actress instead to the lead role. The Wachowskis would have done that!

No worries. Well, even Mamoru Oshii said that this "scandal" is just a media storm in a tea cup : https://www.theguardian.com/film/2017/mar/24/scarlett-johansson-ghost-in-the-shell-director-whitewashing

That is a very interesting opinion; though I'm sure for the amount that Paramount are paying him for the rights to the movie, he'd say anything ;)

such a pity a great story is getting fame for the wrong reasons. They should have used an asian lead for sure though.

I'm not so sure. Mangas are famous for representing supposedly Japanese characters with non-Japanese features. And its interesting that you say "asian lead": a Chinese actress would have been ok to portray Motoko Kusanagi? Now... I'd like to know what Shirow and Oshii would have thought about that.

Are mad? Uninformed? Or Both?
The character is not meant to look Asian. As a long time rabid fan of GitS your article gives me the vibe of some buzzfeed writer jotting down some stuff while being high on excitement of something he/she barely knows about.
GitS goes way deeper and you are already high on the shallowest levels.
I wanted to see a live action GitS starring Johannson since the day I saw Lucy (2014)
She was the perfect person to play the role and I haven't seen a single person from Japan complaining about the casting. There were some YouTube videos on that too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57034.02
ETH 3084.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41