Stop Thinking You're the Whole Enchilada

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)

There is something I realized about myself that I really want to share, and it's not just me. It's true for you too, though you might not see things quite this way.
What I realized is that what I call "me" turns out to be only a fragment of who I really am!

The problem is I walk around thinking I'm the whole enchilada.

mexican-245240_1920.jpg


I think I live in a world of opposites, of duality. All I see is good or bad, hot or cold, black or white or some gradation in between. But it's not the world folks, it's me!
Good is only less and less and less bad. Keep taking increments of height from high and sooner or later you get to low. They are opposite sides of the same coin. In fact, the only way to define one is by the other.
a-total-solar-eclipse-1113799_1920.jpg

I only see one increment at a time. Why? Because I myself am only one fragment of consciousness, totally oblivious to the fact that I am not only incapable of seeing the whole of reality, but that I am not a wholly autonomous being who is in charge of running the show.

I am convinced that the more convinced I am that I am in control, the less control I really have.

binary-1536624_1920.jpg
Why? Because you cannot exercise control over something you don't know exists. Conscious recognition of the other fragments of my personality is the first step to conscious control and cooperation.
The question is how do we go about recognizing what is unconscious? I would say that the answer to that is as varied as there are individuals. Religions (a word that means union) are broad paths that can get people started, but the deeper you go the more individualistic the path becomes.
Fortunately, you don't have to worry too much since the idea that you are in charge is delusional. Once you realize that,

you can stop worrying about finding your way because, at that point, your way can find you.

puzzle-693873_1920.jpg



Thanks so much for reading my post:) I'd love to hear your comments.
Harmony @heretolisten


All pictures provided by the amazing, magical https://pixabay.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61143.11
ETH 2928.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56