Sort:  

That is a logical fallacy. It is also an absolute. It could also be considered a platitude. So stating a simple platitude should really be backed up with a proof. I am not trying to insult you. Yet saying things that sound wise and like you might find from a fortune cookie does not make that thing true. There are a lot of cool sayings like this. I use some of them myself, and I only recently have started thinking about platitudes. So again this is not attempting to bash you or belittle you at all. I have only recently began thinking about how we sometimes whip out a short nice sounding statement as though it is the ultimate answer. If you really think about it they generally are not. :)

So let's talk about your statement now. In general I think it would be correct. The only thing that really stops that statement itself from being true is the absolute (Everything).

What if the thing added to the truth ends up being something that is true and just was not known? There are exceptions.

I really do like that platitude by the way. I haven't heard it before and it has a lot of wisdom in it. The only flaw in it is the absolute EVERYTHING.

"Almost everything you add to the truth subtracts from the truth." while addressing the absolute issue doesn't have quite that same punch.

I do get what you are saying though and for the most part (except for the absolute) I agree with you. ;)

I literally found that in a fortune cookie.
I mean, I only wrote it because I had JUST opened the cookie, and found that in there.

Yeah, it's seriously from a fortune cookie. So don't go thinking I'm some mistress of platitudes.
I had just read it today, from a fortune cookie, so like, yeah. Heheh. Don't take it too seriously.

Heheh. Fortune Cookies often have good platitudes. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64564.26
ETH 3223.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65