Can there be...?

in #philosophy7 years ago

An idea so clever, it cannot be questioned?

A fact so precise, it cannot be proven?

An ethic so virtuous, it cannot be violated?

An emotion so fulfilling, it cannot be felt?

An object so real, it cannot be revealed?

A concept so comprehensive, it cannot be comprehended?

Is there a philosophy so definite, it cannot be debated?


No, I say, and thus, to you I say, if you are reading my essays, poems, or stories, and spot a reason for debate or argumentation, go for it. I'm always open to critique, examination, and analysis of any of my ideas. The scientific method is my most respected methodology for finding out information, superior to debate or logic perhaps, but I will most certainly settle for mere logic or debate, if you wish to have a go at anything I say.

If you can make me feel or think something, then there is something to be said.

Truth is a journey, so to think I know truth by default is absurd. I quite enjoy writing all my ideas, and reading all the fun articles here, but nothing is as delightful as a little debate in the comments. Of course, it's only enlightening if we both have an open mind, and empathy for each others' positions in our hearts. There is most certainly an adventure waiting in each person, so to discuss things with them is always quite fun, isn't it?

I see no one here as an enemy. Only friends and allies in hiding, so although my philosophies can be harsh and critical, it is only in search of truth and justice that I perform this terrible, heretical duty. This scientific sword, covered in the blood of slaughtered ideas, and this skeptical shield, covered in the many arrows of folly, and dented by delusion, are what I must use in this battlefield of Earth and our technologically complex internet, filled with so many different people, all of which whom have their own fascinating story.

And each of them agree or disagree in different ways, about different things.

However, I think there is one idea, one fact, one ethic, one emotion, one thing, one concept, which forms the most vile, most terrible philosophy. It is an act that is beyond desperation, for it reaches into our very hearts, and snatches away our warmth, our happiness, and all that is sane, and thus, it must never be considered. It is not just a darkness, like that of night; rather, it is The Darkness.

Suicide.


Sort:  

I suppose Kevorkian would disagree though, so again, can anything not be analyzed?

Is there any thought that cannot be fought?

I suppose it is the nature of truth and reality to seep its way in through the cracks in our little walls. But it is not always truth that seeps.

It is that terrible black syrup, that terrible liquid that @alexbeyman writes about extensively. It is this feeling, this terrible grimness, that should not exist in life. It is not like scorching fire, or terrible plague, nor is it like pain or death of any sort.

Instead, it's a crumpling. A folding of will-power, or a defeat of idealism. A negation of hope.

It's a terrible thing to let the darkness in, and once you stop trying to fight it, you are either awash with it, and survive, and begin to fight once more, or you succumb, and that is that.

Either way, with my writing, I hope to forge tools of all sorts, swords and shields, and all manner of weaponry to defend us from terrible, sad, and awful things. To manipulate a person, to shatter their smile, to make a good life turn bad, is not tolerable. This darkness is not to be allowed in.

It must be fought, and we must win.

I have a question. Just to ponder. It relates to how we define the term suicide.

What should we consider suicide?
For instance, what about a loss of will to live. What if a person does not take their own life but rather stops fighting to stay alive. They stop eating and drinking water and slowly they fade away. Is this suicide?

Does suicide need to be a direct action or can it be a passive lack of action?

Loading...
Loading...

'it reaches into our very hearts, and snatches away our warmth, our happiness, and all that is sane, and thus, it must never be considered'

I must confess I don't understand why you're so apodictic here. In some circumstances, you may well be considering a suicide exactly to save 'your warmth, your happiness, and all that is sane'. You may just try to hold on to yourself until the very end...

I form my philosophies via the scientific method, whenever possible.

Recently, there was a death of a fellow Steemian, and many people reported feeling terrible things because of it.

It was not the person who committed the suicide who had their warmth snatched away.

It was her friends and family.

I'm not suggesting to take a suicide lightly i.e. without even considering what it will do to people you care about. They will need an explanation. But still, it's my decision at the end. Isn't it?

If I understand the evolution correctly we came from the chaos of matter by many blind trials. I just think that some of these nature's experiments are too painful to ask anybody to live through them. Especially if there is no God to repay the torment.

I don't know how to apply any scientific method here. ..

To apply the scientific method here, I would just look at how many people choose to kill themselves, and how they choose to do it, and why.

Do they kill themselves with honor, in such a way as to truly end their suffering for noble, logical reasons?

Or is it just a coward's way out?

I think a lot of people do it the noble way, so it might truly be good and right to die if you are suffering an undue amount. It's natural to have dark feelings sometimes, so to deny them would be wrong, at least if there are truly legitimate reasons for wanting to end your pain, such as disease, life-horrors, or other things that can't be lived through, or survived.

I think the most logical criteria to justify suicide is: Will my situation ever get better? Or am I doomed, and cannot ever realistically escape my terrible, painful fate?

If asked honestly, many times a situation will get better, so it's most often not good to kill yourself. But sometimes it is. It's really up to each person.

No matter how a person dies, I think the right thing for the survivors to do is to honor that person and their life, and their choices. Respect for the dead is always important.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63287.47
ETH 2569.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81