You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Meaning in a World Without God

Thanks for a great post! A lot of what you said was really insightful and you have a great writing style. I agree with you that a refusal to accept responsibility is because so many crave certainty. Without responsibility, you also maintain the delusion you have because you end up defending the thing that oppresses you. The pressures on you in some cases to intentionally be cognitively dissonant can be humongous; you can't leave the religion or you'll be killed for instance.

I could go on...

Looking forward to chatting more, upvoted, resteemed and followed! :)

Best,
G.A.V

Sort:  

Thanks for the read! Yes, though to be fair to theists, I don't think the ​choice between responsibility and certainty is rarely a conscious one. As you say, it has a lot to do with cognitive dissonance, and a lot of it is subconscious and instantaneous: Travel down that path, and I lose certainty and possibly gain fear; therefore I'll stick with the path of certainty, even though that means I have to accept a lot of weird shit.

That being said - it will be interesting to note my highlight of responsibility here, and then compare that to a likely post in the future where I get into free will. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61035.98
ETH 2886.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67