Chapel Perilous

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)

Scroll onward to avoid the mistake of stumbling into another synchronicity that will make too much sense.

The video I share here is of Terence McKenna speaking on the subject of "Chapel Perilous" with his wonderful command of the English language. Video from YouTube Chapel Perilous - Along the Way to the Mystery
thelakeysisters

It has only been known to me as "Chapel Perilous" for a short period of time. I have my own accounts of entering this mysterious space which have greatly affected who I am, my perspective of life, and my living philosophy.

What is "Chapel Perilous"? https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chapel_perilous
In my own words (based on subjective experience), Chapel Perilous is where one finds themselves in an uncanny unfolding of events, perceived as an exterior reality, becoming hyper synchronicity. Unimaginable things and events to behold. To share or explain these events to another even as they are happening or afterward would leave either person in the conversation wondering if something truly magical is happening or if you have simply gone mad. Here is a small example of my time with this experience.

I had removed my shoes placing them so I may eventually recover them. I later traveled down some stairs that led me into the train station. I was turned away from riding the train as I wasn't wearing shoes. The ticketing attendant gave me a flyer clearly explaining the train policy. I read the flyer. On one side boasted of the new bike racks to be found on the train. As well there was an explanation of their strict shoe wearing policy... If you looked at this flyer you would see that there were a few words that were in bold colored letters. When reading the flyer omitting all the normal sized font and only the bold lettered words it simply said three words "NEW BIKE SHOES". I left the train station to reclaim my shoes that I may give it another try. When I reached the spot I had left my shoes they were no longer there. Needing a ride and being without shoes my parents were contacted. They came and picked me up. First thing they wanted to do was help replace my missing shoes. They stopped at a store and I was to wait in the car (because I wasn't wearing shoes). Upon returning to the car my folks handed me a shoe box labeled BIKE brand shoes. There it was in print on two seemingly separate items acquired moments apart with no deliberate coordination. "NEW BIKE SHOES". As things continued in this fashion I decided that I could not tell whether I were crazy or if there were some amazingly coordinated supernatural phenomena occurring. I then decided to try to pay no more mind to these synchronicity and remain skeptical and open to other explanations.

Robert Anton Wilson has both spoken and written about "Chapel Perilous". He notes that there are two ways in which one emerges from it. One may either become paranoid or agnostic and there is no third way.


Image source disinfo.com. Photo of Robert Anton Wilson with quote.

I like to consider myself agnostic. I choose to approach life in a state of disbelief. This maybe the way in which one remains truly open minded. If one remains in disbelief then they are able to consider anything and share in virtually any vantage point.

Maybe there are other steemians out there willing to add their experience or would like to dig deeper and ask some questions. Good day to all.

Sort:  

Congratulations @greeneyessee! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @greeneyessee! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04