For What It's Worth

in #philosophy7 years ago

I wrote this a few years ago for someone who asked about having a career with horses. I don't know how useful it is, but when I found it today, I thought it was a good reminder for myself, and not just to be applied in the equine world.

a1.jpg

I was fortunate to grow up near a training facility. I started working there when I was 11, trading lessons for cleaning stalls. I had been riding since I was a toddler, and my parents did not understand why I wanted to take lessons. When I took my first lesson, I realized I did not know how to ride. I only knew how to stay on. Big difference. Very humbling. It was an important step in my life. I began to learn not only how to actually communicate with a horse that day, but also what it feels like to be a student. If you are going to be a teacher, you have to know what it feels like to be a student.

a2.jpg

From there I studied under anyone that would have me and rode anything I was handed. Keep in mind that good people and good horses can make good teachers, but the bad ones can be great. Everything is an opportunity to learn. And every person or horse you work with will pay you. Not always with money, but you will get knowledge every single time.

Also recognize that we are all unique with how we process information. You need to find many different ways to say the same thing. The more people and horses you work with, the more your language skills develop.

a7.jpg

When you are at a show and you have some down time, don’t hang out in the barn. Go to the warm up arena and watch. You can learn so much just by being an observer. Sometimes you learn what works well, sometimes you learn what doesn’t. Watching someone else figure that out is a pretty easy education.

Also know when a horse uses force, it’s because it doesn’t understand. When a human uses forces, it’s because they are not willing to use their mind. If you find someone to study under and they use force over psychology, you have learned they are not who you want teaching you.

2.jpg

It is very important you know how to “read” a horse. Some humans will tell you anything, but a horse will never lie. You just have to be able to recognize what they are telling you, and always take their word above anything else you hear.

A8.jpg

Keep in mind, no matter how good you get, you are still working with a large animal that has a relatively small brain, on a planet that is maintained by gravitational pull. If you become too comfortable and let your diligence slide, you are asking for the wrath of any of those combinations.

a4.jpg

Never stop paying attention. Never stop listening, never stop learning. Best of luck to you.

(All included photos I have had the pleasure of taking. Hope you enjoy :) )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 60799.23
ETH 2640.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58