You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Trashing Ayn Rand's Philosophy of Selfishness Is Hypocritical

in #philosophy7 years ago

I just feel like helping people is the naturally correct thing to do. Nothing to do with feeling good about yourself, just helping people with what is easy for you to help them with.

Sort:  

Partially instinctively, yes.

Not really instincts imo. If it costs you almost nothing (like say the cost is it takes you a few seconds to a minute, at no monetary cost) to do something, then motivation does not have to factor in at all. When a stranger stops and asks me a question and I can answer, I do not feel good or proud helping them. If somebody needs to be calculative to the point that a bit of your time is a problem, then that seems like a bigger pretense than doing things to feel good in the first place. People just torture points to the extreme to set up these ideological frameworks...

You make a good point about that kind of help but the article refers to that help that could put one at risk that's why I kinda got lost in answering you back.. obviously that type of help you're saying isn't a problem. That's self-explanatory...

I mean that loses me back; nobody cares if anybody thinks it is too risky for another individual to go to Africa to serve people. Time, risk to one's health, the unknown, etc... So there would be nothing to argue there; the point is all altruism is immoral or there is no argument to be had. So the place you come from to easily point out how goofy that mindset is would be the smallest kinds of altruism.

Then to settle everything, let me just say the cliché "to each his own"

helping someone or somebody can be interpreted in several different ways. Following Ayn Rand theory you can help someone if that brings you some comfort, self satisfaction, or nirvana or some sort so then the question is morally did you help them or did you helped yourself? Also, in my opinion when you are helping someone either financially or physically you are allowing that person to rely on you. In certain societies I have witnessed these type of behaviors disables masses and cripples economy. I'm open to teaching a man how to fish but I will never fish for any man.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66425.17
ETH 3185.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63