Sort:  

Faith in what? Deism which I tend to lean most towards is totally anti-organized. It basically is "there is a creator, now look around you observe, and use reason" If you seek a holy scripture in Deism the closest thing you will find is what you can glean from what is written into nature and reality itself. As that transcends what our languages can define. We are constantly having to invent new words, and new concepts to define new things we learn. So how would it be possible for something written in an even more limited vocabulary and concepts to define reality?

Plus, deists don't claim to know what the creator is. They simply think there is one. The articles I linked on it explain that more.

Though I am okay with atheism as well, but not necessarily how people may think. That is also explained in some of those posts.

EDIT: My faith in what statement was not intended as an attack. It was short, but it was stated with curiosity as it's purpose not malice. That I realized after rereading what I wrote may not be apparent and could be interpreted as something else.

I still don't have an answer for that. Deism is close, but I'm not sure that there is one single deity. To put a steemit reference to my answer, I tend to believe more in a distributed group of deities/forces.

The StarWars reference to midi-chlorians is also very close to what I believe.

But I also respects everyone's choice in faith - since noone knows the answer, who am I to say who is right or wrong in their beliefs.

Yeah deism doesn't seek to define creator. It isn't even one of their goals. They basically just believe in some catalyst... now look around, observe, and use reason.

I like it because it doesn't try to force other people into a box of WHAT IS, and allows them freedom to think for themselves. The only truths they are really interested in are based upon observation and reason.

But I also respects everyone's choice in faith - since noone knows the answer, who am I to say who is right or wrong in their beliefs.

This too is true. It is also why I only talk about religion occasionally. I don't like to force it upon people.

Yet that doesn't stop society from trying to force it upon me, so I occasionally hit a cluster of articles on religion.

You can observe and deduct a creator very easily with your method.

Observe and deduct is called a hypothesis or speculation. That is not proof.

I can observe and deduct and make up MANY different plausible explanations. That used to be a game of mine. That doesn't make any of them true.

They just could explain what I observed at the time. Yet it didn't prove anything.

Observation and Deduction are not sufficient for ANY kind of proof. That is just the hypothesis stage. AKA speculation, guessing.

observing, and deducting is basically science. You can prove where you are, which in turn proves a creator, get it? No speculation required. This is not about religion. Trust me, I'm not religious. I'm a heavy metal freak , not a jesus freak. I just stumbled upon the truth, as known by secret societies and many more.. The answers are CLEARLY known.

Your observance of your existence does not proof the existence of a creator (or anything else at that).

The observance of a fish also does not prove the existence of a fisher boat.

observing, and deducting is basically science.

No it is not.

That is the first few stages of the scientific method. Science is things discovered using the scientific method.

It doesn't stop at those stages, and those first few stages prove absolutely NOTHING. It requires all of the stages to actually prove something.

so, no, it's not.. but it's the first few steps. :) LOL Thanks.

Hypothesis, plus controlled observation, repeated is part of it. Analysis/Deduction and links to other works is the last part.
Finally conclusions comes next.... based on observation and deduction.

I think I said it 'basically' as stated. I am aware of the extra steps, and repeatablity, etc.. also statistical analysis of errors, etc... I could go on, but most smart people who understand how things work get the gist of what I said.

Oh by the way I never said there was no creator. I simply stated I don't believe in revealed religions. In otherwords ones someone is basing on speculation about observations (primitive man at that) and/or visions or things they heard.

I am equally comfortable with being either an atheist (no creator) or a deist (there is a creator but we don't define it).

As you know what I do regardless of either of those?

Observe and use reason. I actually do lean towards a creator.... yet I don't believe it is anything like in any bibles. Those seem silly and don't explain a lot of things and require magical thinking.

I do think there easily could have been a creator or catalyst. That doesn't mean they are superior. I don't seek to define what the creator is.

Instead I observe and use reason. So yes I do DEDUCT... yet all that leaves me with is hypothesis. So yes while it is fun to think about such things I don't treat my hypothesis as the truth and then try to force people to believe my guesswork. I don't write it into a book, and tell people they must believe what I wrote based upon my deductions from my observations.

First the world is vast. Our language is ever expanding, but people can only express themselves in as complex a thought as they have the language to explain. They also cannot truly make sense of things they cannot explain so their explanations are going to fit within the confines of the words and things they do know. So those guesses are going to be way off....

I mean some of them thought lightning and thunder was Zeus going to town up there angry about something... or the Norse that it was Thor. The Native Americans it was sometimes the Thunderbird depending upon which ones you spoke to.

All of these people Observed and used Deduction based upon their limited knowledge.

I will simplify it for you. You can't prove there is one, and you can't prove there isn't one. All you can do is observe an use reason.

Also because I'm getting ready to leave town for three days and may not see your responses. You are totally free to believe what you want. I don't actually have a problem with that as long as you don't force me to, and you don't pass laws that impact me based upon those beliefs.

I also would not ever pass laws or endorse them that restricted your beliefs.

People can believe the earth is flat and the moon is made of cheese and that is harmless until they force it upon others or make laws up based upon those beliefs.

I also did not share my views (Deism/Atheism) to tell people they should be those things. I don't believe that. I only shared them to show where I come from, and how my mind perceives things.

I am also extremely well versed in religion. I own a lot of bibles, and as I was raised Christian, and that's predominantly around I know the most about that one... but I go back way further than just the Councils of Nicea (1st and 2nd) and also have looked into early Judaism, Zoroastrianism, and how they interacted with each other and how it influenced and changed the faiths.

Most people don't know that until Judaism and Zoroastrianism mingled there was no Hell, and there was no concept of Satan or Lucifer. Early Judaism truly was monotheistic. Zoroastrians on the other hand had a good god and a bad god, though like Satan they didn't always refer to the bad god as actually a god... but more as the adversary. They also had a heaven/hell type setup...

Eventually that leaked into Judaism (aka the old testament jews) and soon Judaism had a bad guy, and heaven and hell... later Christ came along as a Jew in judaism and said other things (very eastern sounding things actually) and we have the New Testament from that, and the Old Testament from Judaism. Though both were cobbled together and heavily edited by the 1st and 2nd councils of Nicea. A lot of material didn't make it into them (aka censoring) and thus that is part of the big deal with the dead sea scrolls, as some of that is items that were censored... one that is easier to find is the Book of Enoch which is removed from most modern bibles, but it was actually part of them for some time.

So observe and deduct... you can apply that to history too and the changing and evolution of the faiths. You can watch famous people in history and how they influenced and lead to changes. You can watch invasions, and attempts to convert people and how that lead to changes.

Observe and deduct... man.

I am not religious. I said a creator can be proven, by proving the nature of our existence. i think organized religions are mostly bullshit, but there's truth in there too. Cant' disregard anything when searching for the actual truth. What I'm saying is beyond all faith, you can answer this question yourself.

i think organized religions are mostly bullshit, but there's truth in there too. Cant' disregard anything when searching for the actual

You and I agree there.

you can answer this question yourself.

I can guess. I can't answer. I can guess a lot of different things too. I do enjoy guessing, yet I do not make that mistake of believing because I can guess something that makes it fact.

LOL The creator can be proven through seeking knowledge. It's out there. Not easy to find, but you don't need pure faith to prove a creator.

The proof is not in the bible or any book of that nature. The proof lies in the scientific understanding of the true nature of existence, combined with deep research into the secrets protected by secret societies. It doesn't lie in bibles, exclusively, though some truth is there. You need to really understand WHERE WE ARE to prove creation. There are people in the news who even tell you we live in a simulation..... Think about it :)

Faith is not proof. proof is proof. what do you think all those secret societies protect as their ultimate secret??? Any idea???? Perhaps you should find out.

Just because you don't know about something, does not mean it 'has not been done' how arrogant.

Prove it. So far it hasn't been done. Faith is not proof. So go for it, prove it.

Speculation is not proof either. Guessing is not proof. So prove it. If you can I'll agree. I don't think you can do it.

Oh I thought I better add... humans writing words in books is easy to do as well. That is also not proof. It can be just another human writing down their speculation as though it is fact.

It is even worse if you tell me to look at a book that was revised many times, and I happen to collect them so I can tell passages that are not the same between editions.

Throw in the Council of Nicea and what they actually did...

So yeah. Show me your proof.

Have faith in fear then!

EDIT: There is always a battle going on. Faith vs reason. I believe that if you have faith without reason you are dumb. If you only listen to reason and don't have faith you are boring!

I agree, to a point. faith without any evidence is stupid. Once you start to determine truth you can hear your heart speak to you to determine truth intuitively.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 56792.82
ETH 2874.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67