The purpose of life is compassion - serving others.

in #philosophy7 years ago (edited)

2018-03-19-giving-compassion.jpg

Let me tell you a little story. I just had a mediumshipweekendseminar with a lot of emotions, energies and other things going on. So this morning I felt a bit tiered, a bit down. Some of these energies were still attached to my bodies. During the day I also had then a doctor’s appointment. And we had this conversation about how I feel, how I am doing and we also talked about the past and about moments where I felt very exhausted, having no life force energy in the body.

During that meeting all these emotions, that pain which I did not had completely taken care of, it all came up again and filled the emotional body, parts of it were still there.

So when I left the doctor I felt this wave of tiredness, exhaustion and heaviness in the body. On the way home some negative thoughts showed up again as well. I just wanted to go home and sleep. At that point a lot of thoughts appeared, asking: What is the meaning of all this, of this suffering? Will it ever get better? What is the meaning of this life? What is the meaning of all this experiences we make, what is the meaning of the physical dimension? We are here only visitors, we cannot take anything of the physical with us, when we leave. And I felt that I did not have any wishes or desires left after any physical, material things. For me it was like: It does not really matter if I am here in the physical or if I am in higher dimensions, in the spirit world. So I asked myself: What am I doing here? What is the purpose of me still being here? Why is it so exhausting here? There is all this noise going on, this pain, people fighting, suffering. And I went through much exhausting experiences as well. What is the meaning of it? I am just so tiered of this all, I just want to go home (the spirit world).

When I arrived at home (apartment), I was tired and lying down on the bed. I just wanted to leave, I wanted to go home. However at the moment I was letting go of all desires, all attachments to the physical – at that moment it occurred to me, pictures came into my mind, of friends, family and fellow students. I felt the strong feeling of compassion towards them. They need me. I cannot leave them here. Some of my friends have issues going on in their life and I experienced similar things in my life. So I can relate to them, I can understand them, I can help them. Who else could help them to get out of their misery?

Then thoughts of all the people with gender identity issues came into the mind. People having trouble with societies gender programming, which are not really sure which gender they are, having issues with their body, thinking they have to change their bodies to be able to be happy, change gender to be able to be themselves, or they feel like non-gender, being neither man or woman. And these people might have difficulties in today’s society, not being able to understand the underlying causes for their feelings. But I can understand them so well, I can share so valuable experiences with them, I can help them to understand more about themselves, why they feel as they feel and that there is nothing wrong with them.

More thoughts appeared - thoughts about all the children being born now which have this high consciousness, such a high soul vibration. They might be very sensitive and have trouble functioning on this earth, might be wrongly labelled as autistic, adhd, etc. Maybe these people might need me as a teacher some day, so that they can understand themselves and develop their gifts.

I was also thinking about the environment, mother earth, animals, … and I felt this deep compassion towards everything, all living beings. That made me realize: No, I cannot go. I am needed. People, animals, nature, spirit - they need me, my expertise, my experiences.

That made me realize that the only true cause of which we are living is compassion. We are living out of love for others, the desire to serve others, to help them. To help them to get out of suffering, to become more healthy and more happy. That is the true purpose of life. It is not the ego having these material desires or cravings after certain feelings. When we let go of the ego we understand that all these wishes, desires, cravings are not the purpose of life, they cause us misery. Underneath the ego there is only pure love and compassion for others.

So the true purpose of life in the physical is to serve our fellow travellers. It is to provide with our own gifts, our own personal skills, the highest possible value for their lives so that they can come out of misery and into happiness. And it is not just humankind we can serve; it is also animals, nature, mother earth, your own soul, the spiritual world and the whole universe.

This does not mean to give up oneself. Of course we have needs as well. We have to take care of the body. The body is the vehicle. We can only do great work and provide value to other beings if this vehicle, the body, is functioning optimal. So we have to provide good food for the body. We have to feed it, we have to keep it clean, wash it. The body should not freeze, so we dress it. We have to keep it functioning on a physical level, so we do training and exercises. The body needs of course also rest, so we do relaxation exercises and let it rest during the night.

We need also the interaction with other people, we need love from others and we need touch – hugging each other and cuddling.

But besides from these needs, the only purpose of life is serving others. So you can ask yourself: What am I good at? What are my skills? What are my gifts, my passions? And how can I provide with these gifts the highest possible value for e.g. humankind, animals, nature, mother earth or the universe?

Make this your primary motivation for all the actions you are doing. Act out of the inner feeling of compassion to serve other beings, to make them more happy. And act without any expectations, do not expect anything back.

You will see – your life will change. To the better.

May all beings be happy.

May you be happy.

I love you.

Julia

Sort:  

Being a light worker and a change you wish to see in the world can be challenging.

I love this prayer from Gabby Bernstein :

"Thank you Universe for another beuatiful day!
What would you have me do, where would you have me go, what would you have me say, and to whom?"

Congratulations @gigliona! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68331.57
ETH 2650.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69