Why crying is good for you!

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)

                           

Have you ever been so emotional in a movie that you just break out in tears? Chances are if you have done this, then you are a very emotional stable person.  

Research shows fiction, in both literary and cinematic forms, greatly improves peoples capacity for empathy.

Empathy is one of the key aspects of emotional intelligence. To be emphatic, makes you more open to other people's problems and you become more approachable. When we are emotional, our brains release oxytocin. 

What is Oxytocin?

Oxytocin is a powerful hormone and acts as a neurotransmitter in the brain. Oxytocin is the hormone that underlies trust. It is also an antidote to depressive feelings.

We often keep our emotions for ourselves.  We don't want to look weak in front of others, but when we watch a movie, we get rid of stress and the emotions starts flowing. We are taught from a young age to keep our emotions to ourselves so that we don't embarrass ourselves in front of others. Even if a child gets hurt, and we want them to stop crying we have all these terms that we use to make them stop. Ever heard the phrase "cowboys don't cry?"

I have laughed many times when I watched a movie with my sister in law. She gets so emotional in a movie that it is like an open faucet. Once when she was watching a movie they had to ask her to leave the theater because she cried so much and she was disturbing the other people trying to watch the movie. If there are any animals in the movie it is even worse.When the movie "Hachiko"came out I warned her before the time NOT to watch the movie, but she did not listen. 

                         

I tend to get VERY emotionally attached to any series that I watch. I binge-watch and then when the series ends, it feels as if my life is going to end.  (I vouched never to watch Grey's anatomy ever again after Derrick died, but here I am watching it again.....)

                                   

My most favorite series of all time was Smallville. I cried like a baby for days when the series ended.  

                          

So.... if you are stressed out, and life is getting too much to handle, chances are, that you need to go and see a good girly soppy movie! You will feel better and you should get rid of emotional stress.  

Why it is good to cry?

A good cry ALWAYS make you  feel better! 

These tears are called emotional tears, and they are one of three types of tears that our body produces. It is possible that criers feel better because crying has also been shown to cause the release of endorphins our body's natural pain killer thus making us feel better.  

                              

Image source 1,2,3,4,5

Sort:  

@giantbear, yes you are right, this emotional stress have to let it go, because it can be more stressful if we hold it inside our body and mind.

i actually didnt like smallville, i thnk prefered HEROES, but generally i dont like seasonal movies becuase once i finish one series, i will have great hunger for the next season and would do anything legalto get it. later on in my life i decied to channel that hunger to comepolet stufss towards things that will help me complete my goals

Oh my...I straightforward go the illegal way to get what I want in the "series"department! No @samstickkz why on earth would you not like Smallville?????
....No man no....LOL!!

Crying is definitely good for you. It has always made me feel better even though it can be difficult sometimes.

I didn't cry during the movie Hachiko although I really do like that movie.

I also really liked Smallville even though I have to say the later seasons when they switched writers were significantly better than the earlier ones in my opinion.

A lot of people walk around with their emotions bottled up because we are told that it's not a good idea to let anyone see who we really are.

This is an incredibly unhealthy way to live though. You must let your emotions out so that they don't destroy you. There is no better feeling than crying when something terrible happens...... because otherwise that emotion is going to come up at a later time and it's not going to be as easy to deal with at that point.

we cry the sign of our hearts touched. not just in humans some stories of animals crying also signify they have feelings. I personally prefer to watch action movies, adventurers and fiction. in a movie like this there will be an adengan where someone who did sincerity but still in question by others. just look at the film Fullmetal Alchemist where a younger brother questioned his brother's honesty.

unnamed.png

I think we live ourselves so into the movie that it feels like real life....thanks for your comment.

It's always better to let out the emotions rather than keep them in.

Movies always get me in tears. Just awhile ago I caught myself teary eyed while watching the animated film Coco . I am a very emotional stable person.

Ha ha...you definitely are! :)

Yeah is very good. cry as much as you want but make sure you cry for the same reasons twice.

so hard can cry..

You recieved a 99.8424% upvote from @sisygoboom - your post is on fire!

Consider delegating to us and recieve 100% of the earnings! (We're happy just recieving curation)

Crying is a great emotional release.

Even if a child gets hurt, and we want them to stop crying we have all these terms that we use to make them stop. Ever heard the phrase "cowboys don't cry?"

I used to hear "stiff upper lip, now!"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44