Follow Up: "Is Democracy Dead?"steemCreated with Sketch.

in #philosophy7 years ago

Yesterday I wrote a short piece about democracy.
If you haven't read it yet you can check it out here:

https://steemit.com/philosophy/@ggorwell/is-democracy-dead

In the comments @jpunith gave me a little experiment to think about. He asked me this question:

Should every decision on a ship be made only by people that know about shipping or by every person who is on board?

On my drive to work today I thought about this question and I came up with this.
It really depends in what situation the ship is in. If there is an emergency, only the people that know about shipping should decide what to do. If the ship isn't in a dire situation, for example it should be decided what course to take, I think every person should be able to participate in the decision finding process.

Of course this little experiment can be directly compared to the democratic process, as he adds:

So in a democracy, should only the people vote that understand politics and the democratic process or everyone?

As I said I really think it depends in what situation a country is in. If there is a crisis that needs to be solved asap, i think it would be better to give the command to experts. On the other hand if there is no immediate crisis, war etc. that needs to be avoided/handled, I believe that every person should have the right to make his opinion be heard.

This is the answer I came up with. What do you think?

If you completely agree/disagree with me, please let me know in the comments!

Thanks again @jpunith for this thought experiment!

Greetings,

ggorwell

P.S.: I edited the questions of @jpunith a bit so they became clearer, I hope I didn't mess it up - as always I'm not a native.

Sort:  

Let's hope so.

"Establishing democracy is the first step in the Revolution." - Karl Marx

America's constitution promises every state a 'republican form of govt.' not a democracy. Demand Liberty.

Don't understand my bad attitude? Start here: http://www.freekentucky.com/the-must-readwatch-page/

Hm, I don't see the connection to my post in your comment.
I checked the website out for a few seconds and on top you got a George Orwell quote which I really like.
Otherwise I am not too familiar with american politics so don't want to comment on it further.
Thanks anyway for checking my post out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67888.24
ETH 3518.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71