You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Unshakable] Weekly Stoic-inspired Challenge To Cure Your Fear of Discomfort and Failure - Practice The Worst-Case Scenario With Me And Make Yourself Resilient

in #philosophy7 years ago

Cool challenge. I think stoically but do not live in a way such as you have. You remind me of Diogenes of Sinope in that regard.

I choose spaghetti and butter (with a little salt).

Sort:  

That is great that you have a Stoic mind @getonthetrain. I believe I was pretty Stoic before even knowing what it is, that's why I'm probably attracted to it.

Also, it's not like I "suffer" or practice every day with the huste and bustle of every day life it's sometimes very easy to forget :). Another reason for this challenge, an accountability and a reminder for myself and others.

Haha, I love that butter made it to your choice of food, too :). (Many friends of mine think I am made of butter, so I might be a bit biased ;) )

In what sense do I remind you of him?

In the ways of homelessness & sleeping on the ground, simple foods, few possessions and testing yourself against nature. At least from what I remember about reading of him.

Nice :). Maybe I should look more into him.

Or maybe everyone at that time lived like that as there was not much of a choice :).

Well, he was a pretty crazy guy from all accounts. Lived in a big pot near the marketplace, masturbated freely in front of anyone, and basically just messed with all people. Especially the main philosophers of his time such as Plato.

Haha, so maybe there's an idea for next challenge, freely masturbateing in front of people in order to learn not to give a single damn as well as heal sexual shame :) :D.
Not sure if many people would join for that :).

Yea, probs not ;P

So how did it go at the end? Did you manage?

I did. It wasn't too far off what I like normally. :D

Two meals per day of simple things.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64839.49
ETH 3551.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32