You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are You Smart or Wise?

in #philosophy7 years ago

I agree with you on some parts. Here is my take on the difference between them:

For me Intelligence is the ability to find solutions. While wisdom comes from experience. Wisdom is the knowledge we have gained from past situations.

"First of all it isn't stated anywhere in the essay that the common goal of both being smart and wise is to be able to act in unknown situations."

I think the "goal" of intelligence and wisdom is problem solving.

To illustrate the difference let's suppose we have two individuals with the same intelligence who are asked to do a sophisticated job.

The one with wisdom will do the job better, because he or she had done a similar job before and could apply that knowledge for this job (which is your point).

In other words, to me intelligence is the ability to find solutions, while wisdom is knowledge that we have gained from a past experience to solve a particular problem.

This was a really good thought to start my day! Also I wanted to thank you for supporting so many steemians!

You are a hidden hero of Steemit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59368.30
ETH 2461.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45