You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: You can do anything, as long as you don't get caught

in #philosophy6 years ago

On the other hand if you choose not to wear a seatbelt and then I crash into you and you die instead of having only minor injuries your family sues me then you actually created that liability for me didn't you?
In my state you have to be caught doing something else illegal before they can cite you for a lack of a seatbelt, so you can always drive right to avoid a ticket for that.
It's like drinking and driving, under most circumstances (except checkpoints which ought to be illegal) you are only going to be caught if you are doing other shit that is dangerous for everyone. I had a buddy that was great at drinking and driving. Driving a car on public roads is a privilege, not a right, because when people do it wrong then innocent people die.
That said I think seatbelt and DUI laws should be repealed, let nature take its course.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64156.67
ETH 3169.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53