You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Will Flagging Ultimately End up Killing the Steemit Platform?

in #philosophy6 years ago

I have flagged it because you don’t understand what censorship is. Trust me, I come from Russia, earlier Soviet Union. Perhaps you should start using busy.org, another interface with the blockchain. Posts and comments which were flagged don’t collapse or change colour, but left as is. Plus you simply don’t understand the technology. Please study it first before writing something like this and I will happily remove my flags.

Sort:  

Thanks for the tip about busy.org. For some reason I thought that busy was a Stemmit app.

Yet if it's an independent app running on the Steem blockchain that doesn't censor, then it might be my solution.

I'm not sure that I'm willing to concede that hiding posts from view, because you don't like the message is not a form of censorship.

Legal Dictionary:

Censorship: "The suppression or proscription of speech or writing that is deemed obscene, indecent, or unduly controversial."

I think when you do an action on a platform, that causes the post to be hidden on that platform, that it in fact is a form of suppression.

It may not be as ugly, or as violent as some of the things you may have witnessed from soviet Russia, but it seems like soft-censorship to me.

If I weren't on the Steemit platform, and unable to take those extra steps to first unhide a post, and unhide the images. That's when it would move from soft-censorship, to censorship.

But hey, we live in different countries and have different ideas about things. I can respect the fact that we have different opinions, or ideas about what is what.

I live in America, and although I might ridicule someone if they had a bad idea. I'd never place a road closed sign in front of their driveway in order to prevent other people from visiting them.

Loading...

Are you kidding me? That's not a reason to flag a post. Just educate the poster instead. If they don't listen and are continuing to spread misinformation then maybe it would be justified.

@eonwarped, well, the flag was given as an incentive for the poster to actually start to educate himself about the matter, before he learns about and starts to buy upvotes through bots. And becomes one of the for profit only spam posters.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64320.49
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54