You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It's not Them, it's Us.

in #philosophy7 years ago (edited)

Great post (again).
Is it the money that attracts people to steem?
Is it the wallstreet vs social that creates 'whale wars' ?

What if 'money' didn't exist? What if "this" for "that" was an exchange of either ideas/actions/caring.

Sort:  

I think we have been trained to support the 0.01% and to break that training takes time. I am trying but at the same time, it can't be done completely oblivious either. I understand that at Steemit, I am a one percenter from a financial standpoint based on support but to get here I have been pushing very hard to bring others along too and sharing outwards. I feel I am both deserving of reward and embarrassed by it but I also know that I am adding value in numerous ways along the way and will always do so. I can't give less of a crap about a Lambo, I am not 18 anymore.

I think that in time, the diversity of support will come but as I and others have said before, the minnows don't know the power they hold here and if the majority rethink their strategies of things like trying to frontrun the whales on trending posts, we would all be better off in the longrun.

We often look to the influential (the rich) to do it for us but this is how many of them got rich in the first place. We each need to take a little personal responsibility back and acknowledge our own shortcomings. The man in the mirror is the first step.

100% agree. I'm not sure it's if it's a generational thing, but many have become "dependent" on the exact system that they need to break away from as it is that 'system' that creates the enslavement.

Slowly slowly progress will be made IMHO. First steps are waking people up to the 'system' and what it means & how 'they' control us and perhaps why (although that might terrify many)

But basically it is just a "FEAR system" vs "TRUTH system" choice IMHO

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62312.95
ETH 2458.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65