You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Time for more weird word etymology!

in #philosophy7 years ago

Well, if English is fucked up, can you imagine how Russian or Chinese are fucked up? :) 1 word can have so many meanings and you can get what it means only because of the general idea of the sentence.
Nevertheless, thanks for sharing new info, did not know all that stuff or staff or shaft? I got confused :D

Sort:  

Yeah.. Some of those other languages seem pretty nuts.. Though I've heard quite a few scholars and poets in similar lines of study as me basically say English is the worst one. Take that how you will, doesn't necessarily mean it's true.. But.. There's a lot of really smart people who think that.

I don't know any other languages myself, or very little of parts of them.. So it's hard for me to say. But definitely seems like a lot of fuckery in our language, lol.

And you're welcome! Glad you took something from all of that.
Also I chuckled at your play on words at the end! :)
Cheers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62108.99
ETH 2429.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64