You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Giordano Bruno: An Original Rosicrucian Magician

in #philosophy7 years ago

Bruno is an important figure for memory techniques since he tried to use them for magical practices. You can find more abou that in Francis Yates book "The Art of Memory".

Check out my channel for more about memory techniques.

Sort:  

A lot of Bruno's memory palaces are very hard to use and require a strong knowledge of church latin. I only studied classical latin in my school days and find it very different to use books like On the Shadows of Ideas. If you really want to use a vintage memory palace I would recommend Phoenix by Peter of Ravenna.

I created my own memory palace that was based on the ptolemaic tree of life. You can find modern memory books that are way better.

You are right, Bruno was very complex and confusing. I was an active memory athlete for over a decade and used modern memory palaces over and over again. But they have nothing to do with the esoteric approach he chose.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60745.98
ETH 2342.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52