You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Non-Aggression Principle: A crisis, introspection, and offer of discussion

in #philosophy7 years ago

In times like these, using the NAP is the only way to morally justify our actions. Anyone who claims to have authority over others is the problem and the only way we can resolve this conflict is by standing our ground and only acting out of necessity.

Sort:  

resolve this conflict is by standing our ground and only acting out of necessity

Which is how I have been thinking until recently. Recently I've started seeing that the necessity may be here. If we wait until they are on our doorstep, we wait until they have made even speaking illegal, etc then how do you stand your ground at that point?

We stand on our doorstep in righteous indignity and talk about how we've always taken the "higher path" and they kill us just the same.

Can we use the NAP? Yes. Can we expect NAP to work if we let them pick off other people that are protesting and using words one by one so there are no allies left?

I am very strong believer in the NAP. Yet, I have had sudden strategic and tactical thoughts.

I've done the "put myself in other people's shoes" and I've observed what they are doing. I've thought about what they already seem to justify. I've watched lies be not only accepted but the norm.

Will the fact you or I stood on our door and only acted when they were physically there be remembered or make a difference?

If the NAP justifies self defense. My thought now is that in many ways we ARE under attack. We cannot ignore this. Is not stripping away your rights and making your words illegal an attack?

I agree. I do believe we are under attack at the moment and the time to act is now or never. The fake news and fake science narrative are clearly aimed to silence the critical thinkers who aren't conforming to the status quo.

That was my fear. I realized that sitting still and only considering the NAP the way I have been for a long time makes me idle and vulnerable at a time I should be thinking about how to ACT and stop it as a form of self defense.

If you wait until they are on your doorstep; they will be better armed than you, better organized than you, and there will be more of them. That is one thing their ideology is based upon. obedience in hivemind

As a strategy, peaceful resistance seems much more promising to me than lowering us to their standard and throw our principles over board, just to become like them... If nobody attacks you physically, 'defending' yourself is a bit like the bush doctrine about preemptive strikes... ('But, but, they were just about to do something horrible, so we had to annihilate them')

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67443.68
ETH 3234.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65