Who Are You?

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)

The One Question That Built a Trillion Dollar Company.


Every day I stroll around Steem, often spending lots of time in Discord too, and I observe the behavior of people. One of the things I see most often, especially here on Steem, is that people just follow the money and anything will do. Anything will do as long as there’s money in return.

D1A913A8-4CCA-477A-834D-D6444A48D530.jpeg

When rewards stay out, or are too low for their own expectations, this rather philanthropic platforms gets hit out at and people resort to feeling entitled, requesting that the platform reverts to even faster and most definitely absolutely higher returns.

Better instant gratification, absolutely necessarily combined with financial rewards.

When the alternatives for most would be writing for Likes, Upvotes, or Claps.

Or trying to achieve traffic and revenue from an own blog.

Who Are You?

What do you stand for and where do you want to fit in the Steemosphere? How do you want to be remembered by your peers?

Are you the Steemian who “stacks writing opportunities”? Or are you the one who will grow a following because you lead and guide?

End September 1997, merely eight weeks after returning to Apple, Steve Jobs announced in an internal meeting that Apple would slash a majority of its product line and focus only on the “gems”.

Eventually, this one meeting was what led to Apple becoming the first trillion dollar company in the world, thanks to a renewed focus on only few products and excelling at making those the best in class products. Rather than doing the same as everyone else and having a vast product catalog, without true focus on any of the products.

“Who is Apple and where do we fit in this world?”

This question, with the subsequent focus on a small product line and excel at those products led to Apple’s iconic “Think Different” campaign, created by advertising agency TWBA, which opened with the now as legendary “Here’s to the crazy ones...” words.

Here’s to the crazy ones. The misfits. The rebels. The troublemakers. The round pegs in the square holes. The ones who see things differently. They’re not fond of rules. And they have no respect for the status quo. You can quote them, disagree with them, glorify or vilify them. But the only thing you can’t do is ignore them. Because they change things. They push the human race forward. And while some may see them as the crazy ones, we see genius. Because the people who are crazy enough to think they can change the world, are the ones who do.

Next time you look at your account value, at your upcoming rewards, at the STEEM market rate ask yourself who you are and where do you want to fit in.

Are you Apple before Steve Jobs’ return or are you the first trillion dollar company?

Remember that the man who didn’t want to be the richest person on the cemetery became exactly that person by doing what he loved to do.

By living as if every day was the last day and needed to be an enjoyable day, a day of doing what one loved. Not by merely pursuing the money.

Who are you, fellow Steemian?

Sort:  

Great question. My first year on Steemit I was posting nearly every day - even when STEEM was down to 8 or 12 cents, because it wasn't and still isn't about what I earn. It's about freedom of expression, finding like-minded connections, and being in a platform where I'm challenged on all fronts. I'm still getting used to short form posts. I never gave them much attention, but apps like Steepshot make it easy to touch base at least once a day. I've been like this from my first day and I'll probably be this way 'til I can't post anymore :)

I’ve always mixed short and longform, but that’s because for many years I blogged and “kottke style curation” was an integral part of my daily activities.

To be honest, I wouldn’t mind if STEEM drops to $.12 again. MOAR VESTS. :D

Thanks for your comment, @merej99.

Right?!? I powered down a crap load - but it helped me move into a much better housing situation. MOAR VESTS! I want to be a dolphin again!

And what are you wearing?! I mean you look fantastic in that! -seriously i liked the post FM. I like to think along the lines of linus torvalds and try to do well enough to find happiness. Wealth can be measured in many ways and to capture the true values in life is a quest that cascades exponentially with the little time we have. A good thing to think about always.

It’s interesting that the core thinking, values of all those people we like to let us inspire builds on the main values of stoicism: reason, self-introspection, and the ephemerality of everything.

The richest person on the cemetery?

I'll follow what tickles me. Probably I'm still chasing money, just not the instant noodles kind. But yeah I'm not sticking around if I ain't enjoying myself, that's for sure.

Hmm why a cemetery?

He didn’t really become the richest person on the cemetery because his wife keeps his ashes at home. But it is a rather famous quote of his that that wasn’t his aim.

Pursue your passions!

Thanks to @paradigmprospect, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62284.56
ETH 2424.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58