The Power of Visualisation

in #philosophy7 years ago

Visualisation as an everyday routine


I’m that kind of guy who thinks about (almost) everything before I proceed to actually do the thing. This is though not only about me. To an extent visualisation is part of everyone’s daily lives. The strength of one’s visualisation powers is mainly conditioned by one’s ability to objectively reflect the reality and imaginative ability. The stronger those attributes are, the more plausible recreation of future events may be visualised. Visualisation is of course not only used as a “planning” tool, but also as some kind of “comfort zone” guarding our consciousness from any dire events that are going on in our lives.


Source

Visualisation’s applicability


As I outlined in the previous paragraph, I think that there are two main applications for the visualisation.

Pre-living the event

Even though many of us actually take advantage of coming in unprepared and spontaneously dealing with the event, it’s usually better to deal with whatever has to be dealt with already prepared. Even the most spontaneous of us do profit from planning at least some of the events.


Source

What effectively happens when we visualize the upcoming event is that our brain tries to logically process the most likely outcomes along with the way that has led to the outcome. Doing that it has sort of pre-lived the upcoming event. Pre-living the event is more than just preparing for it. The difference is following: for example when you want to tell someone something, there are two ways how to prepare for it. A) You create a basic curriculum about what you are trying to convey, thus going into the conversation more prepared. B) You lay down for a hour, trying to imagine possible ways that would lead to desired outcome. You try to think about possible answers to your statements. If then in the actual event the reality matches your imaginative counterpart even slightly, you not only came in prepared, you have ALREADY BEEN THROUGHT IT…well…sort of:P.

This whole knowledge came from our ex-coach in Ultimate Frisbee. When he was telling me what I should have done here and there, my answer usually was that I play for only 1 year, therefore didn’t have time to go through all those possible happenings on the field. When the new one struck me, I failed to react accordingly, because before I managed to process it, it was already too late. Well to this he used to say “You fuckin have to imagine it dude. The time spent on the real field is fuckin one thing, but the time you spent on the field in your fuckin’ head is as important!” Then when I during that tournament made an epic layout the after totally getting into the head of the guy I was defending, all I heard from the side-line was “That’s the way! You visualized the fuck out of him!” He was correct, the night before I really did try to imagine a similar event and when it happened on the field, my body “knew” what to do.


Source

Also it is said, that the results of visualization may be more concrete, than the one I outlined. As @sirwinchester wrote like 5 months ago (gave me a bit of trouble finding the article so give it a read:D) the mind might be connected to the muscles, thus enabling you to, sort of, muscle up just using your brain. I wouldn’t call it a “connection”, but it sounds logical to me, that when the brain sends the message to the body saying something like “we will need to be fucking prepared, because exhausting times are coming” the body will of course react.

Comfort Zone

On the other hand, visualisation can also work as means of escaping from the bitter reality. Sometimes we feel weak and the life is rough. But there is a place where we can always hide, and that is hidden inside of our head – the little paradise of ours. Not only we can visualize an event trying to avoid all our mental biases, in order to create the closest thing to reality we can, but we can also do the very opposite. The way how to temporarily fool ourselves and make us feel better is totally subjective matter. I have already found my way, but it wouldn’t be of any use to you. You have to find your own:).


Source

Summary


Visualisations is a super-powerful tool. Whoever did not yet try to use it in ways described above, I strongly recommend doing so. If you think you have rather shitty imaginative ability, do not fear. Imagination isn’t anything else but a logical processing, but that will be a story for different article. I you will, tell me about your experiences with visualisation. I’d gladly hear them out.


Sort:  

There are a number of cognitive technologies just waiting to be defined. Visualization is one such example that's becoming increasingly popular. Knowing how to get the most out of your own mind is key to walking to the future you desire.

I highly doubt it will be defined during our lifespans, if ever (but I wouldn’t certainly doubt that). There are simply so many variables for every individual. Maybe future generations will have easier time learning how to cooperate with the mind.

There are a few things that we've begun drawing the boxes around. We're trying to popularize them and create discussion on how to help humanity along on it's journey forward. Our potential grows exponentially the more we can do with the mind.

I really enjoyed reading your post. Visualization is indeed a powerful tool. When I was preparing for my very first job interview, one of my friends shared "visualization technique" to help me lessen the anxiety. It was different from just preparing for a typical job interview scenario but I'd imagine myself being the situation then roll around my eyes to see people's facial expressions, office ambience, etc. This simple exercise really helped me during the real interview and I've been doing it ever since. It's not about predicting or foreseeing what is going to happen but I would say it is more like a imagination drill of a real situation so you can be calm and confident during important moments.

I have never suffered from anxiety when I had to speak in front of people, but I can totally see how the visualization can help greatly.

As about what it is and what it is not. I think it can be both. It all comes down to the reason why you opt for doing it.

I've always thought that our mind/consciousness can really influence how circumstances can work out for us, so visualisation makes sense to me as a tool to help us succeed. It's important to at least believe in the possibility of success, and visualisation can help program the mind to do that.

It's also just good training for consciousness in general.

Nice article and yes, visualisation, discussed in a many science articles all over the world. We made a messenger Tlind and we'll invite you to use it and find like-minded persons there.

To many people in their lives keep going to the mountain.

Now let the mountain come to you.

We`re not meant to carry mountains.

We`re here to climb mountains.

The second part kinda doesn’t fit from my perspective. The first though is a nice symbol.

Agreed. Super powerful tool, but it can he highly destructive as well.

Definitely! One has to be in control in order not to get "destroyed"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94