Everyday Miracles: How the Simplest Events can Change your Entire Perception

in #philosophy7 years ago

Artboard 1miracles.png

Happy Monday Everyone!

I recently had a discussion with a colleague about miracles that led to me writing this:

Anything can spark the change to your entire life. It is really a question of whether or not you are ready and willing to see and accept it.

A miracle is a change in perception. I was sitting this afternoon at a coffee shop catching up on world affairs. In particular, I was reading about the horrible living conditions in Nigeria. I was enjoying a cup of coffee, not necessarily in a negative mood, but rather one in a neutral state. In the article there was a Nigerian lady sharing her grievances over not being able to afford her rent of £3 (read the moving article here). It was in that moment I realized just how fortunate I really am. I don’t even flinch at spending €2 on a coffee. To hear how to some that is a matter of survival was humbling. So, this random article I read was in a sense a miracle as it totally realigned my perception of money. Something I had recently taken for granted.

miracles-2.jpg
when your wallet looks like this, it is easy to lose track of the value of things

To build on that further, I find it incredible how as humans we are able to reflect upon our past, drawing out new insights. In doing so, we are able to revisit an event that then was nothing more than a passing of time, however; in our newly aligned retrospect, we may be able to draw new meanings. If we are able to discover this hidden truth, then we can actively prevent repeating our mistakes. Every person you ever meet is brought into your existence in order to teach you something. Every single one. It’s up to you to determine the lesson.

miracles-3.jpg

What do you think? Can we find miracles in everyday moments? Do you have one that has occurred to you recently? I would love to hear in the comments!



Tyler Avatar Round-01.png

I am a US born photographer now living in Barcelona, Spain. Through my travels I have learned many things. The most important of which is letting go of all ego. It is only then can we move past our hangups and achieve our destinies. I love the community here and the encouragement I receive to continue practicing my voice. Please, if you have any feedback, don’t hesitate to comment. If you want me to check out your account, let me know. I love meeting others who wish to inspire a community and movement for progressive change.

Have a wonderful day 💙

Sort:  

Great shots, and nice story mate :) Keep shooting, upped and following.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97