You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Collision of Forces: The Spiral Dance of Capitalism, Communism, and Fascism... Buzzwords and Labels Unite

in #philosophy7 years ago

when you were born how available and how affordable were computers?
how available and how affordable are they now?
do computers require a gatekeeper? does the internet?

Sort:  

I didn't say it required a gatekeeper. I said I could envision them trying to make themselves a gatekeeper.

As to computers... my first one was pretty affordable but also very limited. Timex sinclair with 2K RAM. :)

Though I get what you are saying.

My 2nd computer was actually less expensive than ones I get today, though they might be compareable in price when I factor in inflation of the monetary system. My money was worth more then, so it translates to a higher price today.

The variety is a lot higher though. :)

not what I asked.
how big and how affordable were computers when you were BORN?

Affordable about the same.

Though my first computer had 2K RAM.

Footprint wise it was small... though nothing like a cell phone, watch, etc has in it today... those devices dance circles around what I had then that required far more space.

I also worked on some VAXES that took up a room and were far from affordable that are way less than what is in a cell phone, or watch today. :)

The internet is a good example. It doesn't require a gatekeeper, but they are trying to make it so we are required to go through one anyway.

net neutraility...isn't.

Yep, the only way the net would remain neutral is if the government stays out of it.

Net neutrality is there to PREVENT gatekeepers. That is why so many corps are against NN.
Because without NN they will be able to charge you extra. For Twitter just 5$!
You want to access netflix? Great, get our video pakcet! Netflix and Youtube just 10$
Steemit? Full steem for 20$!

Except the last that is all things that I have already seen.

The more they tighten their grip...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60868.40
ETH 2377.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64