You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Philosophy Of Free Will - Rules for Critical Thinking And For Arguing Intelligently

in #philosophy8 years ago

Just came across a quote, apparently by Robert Jones,

"We can disagree and still love each other unless your disagreement is rooted in my oppression and denial of my humanity and right to exist."

I literally just saw this after sending a link to this article along with the quote "Dennett’s sixth point expounds “Sturgeon’s law,” which states that roughly “90% of everything is crap." as both a friend and I were talking about this morning!

I used to be thinking about this so often as I was studying philosophy... Thanks for sharing and hope that more humans will apply the sort of kindness, patience and compassion toward others and themselves when disagreements arise as they will arise one way or another. Your article contains wonderful outlines for a real civilized discourse, dialogue, healthy communication. Thank you so very much as we seem to be at a cross-road in the history of our humanity where such knowing and applying these mode of behaviour can only help us all. So far, our Steemit.com platform seem to be doing a pretty good job in relation to this.

All for one and one for all! Namaste :)

Sort:  

What a thoughtful feedback from you Eric ! I have to let this awesome quote sink in for a second and later tonight I will reply a bit more in detail. You inspired me !

Wow, thank you for the generosity of heart and mind. I look forward to reading your thoughts on it. Have a wonderful day, namaste :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58754.61
ETH 2507.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47