You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: We need to talk about all the things You have repeated in your Life (A companion piece to Death Meditation)

in #philosophy6 years ago

Hello to you,

I jump right into some aspects of your topic:

Even though what you describe sounds quite boring (not remembering what happened the day, the week, the years before) I would call it leading a normal life.

People remember certain events, like when something was extremely welcomed or extremely unwelcomed to them. They also remember physical events much more than contents of dialogues or thoughts or texts. I remember vividly rafting down the river with my colleagues back then compared to our verbal exchanges. I memorize their faces and expressions more than their words. Also, I remember events of deep sadness and that a day after my mom died, I lost a tooth of mine. I would call that "good enough".

Memories didn't happen when I spent my days merely thinking or reading. I neither can remember what I thought nor what I read (to books I only catch the overall meaning but not the exact content). But those plant I got twenty something years ago from a friend, is still alive and I can see that my caring for this plant over such a long course of time was worth the effort. Also, I can see that my connection to people lived through the times and how they engage with me and vice versa tells me the that we were interested in staying in touch. I trust that we will care for each other if I give them a call today or within the next minutes.

I see what your message is: when you spent your life with happenings fading as quick away as they were perceived and lived through living itself makes not much sense. It's wasted.

I miss your personal examples of where exactly you decided for what you call freedom, liberty, and peace. To decide for individuality, on the other hand, is quite common as we modern, technology-oriented people lead very individualized lives and tend to use an individual perspective. I would appreciate your examples a lot because I think personal examples deliver hope and confidence. Where did you take a risk in losing your freedom (instead of obeyed in order to not lose status or finances or having been beaten up) by standing up for yourself and where you were able to keep it without having produced a loser in the course of a conflict but maintained to find consensus with the involved party - or at least a healthy distance? Where can you give practical examples of the notion you state? Do you have some events to tell, where you sacrificed or let go of things or status in order to stay free?

I asked myself as I saw you commenting on my latest article without talking to me personally why you visited me.

You poked exactly in the same hole again as those put focus on I have some debates about "caring". I remember that you were in disagreement by my repetition of the Dalai Lamas words about the Chinese emperor that he is his "best friend". To me, it seems that you deliberately got it wrong and after having seen that you deeply dug into Buddhism and their doctrines I was even more irritated by the fact that you don't acknowledge this statement as another shaking teaching. For me, it's really simple: I don't love the enemy for his brutal actions but I do love him for the great message he delivers to me in this regard as I can take him as a reminder that life can catch me with the exact same feelings of hatred as the dictator is showing the world. Therefore, he is my friend as he is a very strong example of how not to act in this world (using the terms "love" and "friend" is only a method of irritating to leave the comfort zone of interaction). If I weren't able to recognize feelings of great anxiety in me (and what else is it other to be anxious to oppose violence on others?) I wouldn't recognize a hater.

The description of the Buddha who doesn't care if there are killing and suffering in front of him is - in my eyes - a purposely chosen exaggeration, not an evidence of his great carelessness but of his fearlessness to not jump in and kill or condemn the aggressors but to stay present. What that picture leaves out is what the Buddha would indeed do when he faces suffering in front of him by the people he encounters at that very moment physically. Of course, he would help and support the involved. How ridiculous otherwise to even take the Buddha as the ideal role model.

So your comment on Alex example of the careless Buddha made the impression that you give him great credit for his objection to my topic of attachment. I felt impatient about this. So I asked myself about your deeper motives. I haven't visited you after our last encounter. I saw that you voted comments or articles of mine once in a while.

If there is anything you'd like to tell me, feel free to do so. I don't hold a grudge against you but preferred to care not so much about our disagreement and take my time out. What about you?

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61821.96
ETH 2402.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57