You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The main reason to believe we are living in a simulation

in #philosophy6 years ago

I don’t find it really that crazy. In fact that would explain things like religion and other self-introduce constraints in it. I play video games all the time where I interact with characters and in games like No Man’s Sky it has over 18 quintillion planets and most of them are boring! So if a computer game can already have that many planets for players to explore than it really is out of the question.

Not to mention we are putting things in our own terms of power and computer usage. If you look at an ant think how crazy it is must be for them to come across being who live in massive house and can hope in airplanes that take them around the world in just a day. It really puts things into persuasive even more so when you start thinking something like an Amoeba.

Which leaves us to most important question in how are we allowed to question our own existence than. In a computer simulation if you never wanted an npc to question that you just don’t let them and they would never understand the not asking of such a question like that.

Either way I rather do my best to be a decent human being. It just seems to make life easier for the most part. Not like I can just give myself $10 billion and add a trillion years onto my lifespan.

Sort:  

Have you watched the show Westworld? It dives into your point about AI questioning its own existence and how at that point we're really not so different from AI.

I’ve watch a few episodes of it. Was kind of out there for me to want keep watching. It was quite interesting at the very least. I almost wanted to keep watching just to see the maze within the maze be further found by that one crazy due doing all that killing. To not even know you were replaced by a robot is just insanity but how would you ever even know.

Btw I try and avoid upvoting people who self-vote their own comments. Have a great day.

Season 2 just launched if you wanted to get back into it.

Thanks for your directness. Didn't think my $0.0 vote would be enough to rock the boat. I understand if that's your stance on principle though.

Unless a vote goes 2 cents and up, you don't get a payout anyway. But, it messes around with the order of the comments and some people think that self-votes on comments is silly. It isn't the value (normally) it is principle. If your vote is worth so little, use it to appreciate others and you will find your comment returns will likely be higher.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57621.01
ETH 3094.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32