You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why does power often lead to corruption?

in #philosophy6 years ago

I tend to be kind of person that runs away and hides from being put in power of just about anything. Yet over time despite my kicking and screaming I am often just handed it and people do it willingly with pride. It just scares the daylights out of me.

The biggest issue I see with people who have power is how everyone around them turns into “yes” men. You know the kind. They will say yes to anything because they want to either gain more power themselves or keep what they have. They won’t risk losing their livelihood by saying “no,” or look “weak” by not being the one willing to be 100% dedicated to whatever it is. That to me corrupts and twists even purest out there. They have no way of knowing what they are doing is wrong because no one close to them that they trust will tell them they don’t like direction of things going.

For me at least one of worst things I can do is hire friend or family when you are owner of a company. I don’t know what it is once a paycheck becomes involved. People just get a dang eco and abuse being an employee thinking they could never do any wrong. Always been more trouble its worth even more so when you are hiring someone because of it over a more qualitied individual. Which creates even further issues among the ranks because people then are treated as the "oh your his family no wonder you got that nice job."

Sort:  

There's a great philosophy lesson from, I want to say Jordan Peterson possibly, where they talk about hiring and doing business with people that believe what you believe. Sharing beliefs goes so much further than blood ties or economic incentive, because beliefs form our ideologies and dictate what we value etc. I suppose that sort of lends itself to a tribalism mindset, but it was a fascinating lecture either way. Thanks for the input! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57768.72
ETH 2943.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66