You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An Officer's Take: Thoughts on Broken Windows Theory and Legalizing Marijuana

in #philosophy7 years ago (edited)

Glad to see another good post.

If you have time, I'd be interested in hearing you weigh in on anti-homeless laws and on crackdowns on non-violent activism. I've been involved in Food Not Bombs and a lot of cities have laws against sharing food with the homeless. A lot of times, cops try to intimidate FNB volunteers even if there aren't any laws against feeding the homeless. There was a protest in our city and a bunch of people were arrested (and are facing bogus charges) for speaking at an anti-Trump rally. One thing I've noticed is that cops and Americans in general hate activists especially anarchists. While I don't currently identify as an anarchist, it seems to me like an extremely rational and ethical philosophy, more so than mainstream political ideologies. I think cops should probably have to recieve some basic education on different ideologies and religions (anarchism, Islam, Hinduism, Marxism, etc.)...as well as more sociology/anthropology and maybe more psychology than they currently learn. Cops need to be able to understand and relate to the people in their community.

Sort:  

Very good ideas, I will put them in my queue for sure. I absolutely agree that educational standards need IMMEDIATE assessment. The current problem is, at least in our Department, not the availability of educational opportunities for officers to pursue, but the scarcity of educated applicants in the first place. I will post about this issue as well and how I would go about improving it.

I look forward to reading your future posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58269.58
ETH 3138.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43