Steemit helps my mind evolve... I can feel it... thank you friends...

in #philosophy7 years ago (edited)

steemit.jpg
I've always been a thinker and a debater. I've waded into debates on BBSes, forums, Facebook (which I stopped using years ago), and reddit. I would choose the times I did it knowing I was likely to get bruised and battered.

This is especially true of reddit. I've often described reddit as trench warfare. I did learn on reddit and I did get positive things from it, but it was at a cost of substantial time, and a very significant amount of mental bruising and battering.

Steemit. I've been using steemit since July. I stumbled upon it purely by accident. I was teaching myself to use bittrex as I was considering mining some ETH. I happened to sort the many currencies by increase %. On that day steem was listed at 220% or something like that. I was thinking "What in the world is that?" I ended up visiting the website and reading and thinking "Hey this is a cool idea if it really works..." Then I got my first currency. I watched people making currency, and I started getting currency.

I also noticed people were largely civil. It has its blemishes as any idea does, but it is promising and it is something no other place is like.

I've been very active on steemit since that time. I've interacted with many people. I've only had what I'd consider a few uncivil and bad interactions with people on steemit. I've had more disagreements than that by far on steemit but most of the time they remain civil. There are exceptions where people ad hominem attacked me or lobbed a verbal insult my way, but those have been extremely rare. They also tended to backfire on their intent. That doesn't make the person look so impressive if I remain civil and other people are not joining in on the dogpile (like reddit).

So one thing I realized today. I can feel my mind actually growing in deeper thoughts faster than it has anywhere else. I was getting to exercise my mind on reddit too, but so much of that effort had to be focused on self defense. This means I couldn't always dedicate my mind towards thinking particularly deep.

I also remember early on with steemit posting some rather personal posts that I thought people might bash me or react in disfavor to only to have them encourage me and mentally embrace me. That too was freeing.

So while there are some issues (mostly flag related) with the community I want all of you to consider how truly wonderful this environment is. I also want you to stop and consider what I just began thinking when I started to write this.

On steemit my efforts are primarily in the positive direction without a need to shield and worry about the attacks that I have to expect if I were to say anything on reddit. (never know if someone or many someones will jump you there)

This atmosphere I believe is allowing me to flex my mental muscles and keep improving them and take truly deep and deepening philosophical journeys.

This is extremely valuable, and very empowering.

Am I alone in feeling this way?

Steem On!




Sort:  

Agreed, my friend! Steemit has been a wonderful mental exercise! :) Even the somewhat difficult interactions have been "stretching" me.

Steem on! 😄😇😄

@creatr

This is also one of those thoughts that hit me right before I was headed to bed. I'll have to see what things I may be able to reply to tomorrow. The difficult interactions indeed do "stretch" and if they remain civil those are truly some of the most valuable mental experiences we can have.

Yes, I agree. Steemit is good for my learning and growing, but sometimes I have to take a break for a few days as I've been uncomfortably "stretched."

Yes, I know that feeling too... Can't allow the "stretching" to reach the point of "snapping." ;)

I totally feel this way too.

It's great to just put your true thoughts on a page, and not have to worry about anger or freaking out over something. It's nice to just let out line after line, knowing people will try to understand, just as you would try to understand your opponent, just for the sake of understanding.

No Sir,

You are NOT alone feeling this way. Glad you made it out the trenches. (reddit) If you were researching on how to mine ETH or learning about crypto currencies, it makes sense you ended up here at steemit and not by accident. Where else besides the trenches or in Funbook land are you going to have a civilized and technical discussion. Pay no attention to the TROLLS or the haters. Most of them Sir are probably in diapers if I may.

"This atmosphere I believe is allowing me to flex my mental muscles and keep improving them and take truly deep and deepening philosophical journeys."

I feel you ...

Steem on,
Frank

Well also the form of mining here is far more to my liking. Mining with my words, my comments, and my votes is far more engaging and valuable than letting my hardware churn on some math problems.

I know exactly what you mean Sir.

Frank

Definitely agree! For me, Steemit has helped me improve my writing and has given me challenges for photography and cooking/baking. It also holds many great articles :-)

Steemit just seems more... intelligent... than most venues I have come across. Thinking IS allowed here... and ideas are seen as "interesting," not as something that has to be beaten down.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 19. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.36 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 19 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59508.12
ETH 2603.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39