You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why is propaganda effective? How does mental corruption take place?

in #philosophy7 years ago (edited)

Not at all. He just is new here, and doesn't know me.

It is also VERY difficult to answer a statement like that and try to be helpful without seeming to be attacking them. I knew this as I was writing my response to him and tried to throw in some things so he would realize I was not attacking him. I failed.

Yet, he is new here and if he comes from the likes of reddit then this reaction does not surprise me at all, as there people would be attacking him.

Attacking people I consider a waste of my time.

Helping people and learning myself are another story.

Sort:  

This is really the reason why I love people on Steem so much.

Anywhere else when there's no accountability and reputation involved in an online settings. You see the most vile attacks against a person sometimes you question why overkill it so much.

But here, only the most kind hearted and positive person rises because of the value he has which everyone else recognizes, except for a few cases maybe.. Altho that user is indeed Steemit's resident asshole.

And I agree that for some cases it takes someone new some time to adjust to the positivity around here. I was lucky I only joined reddit recently a few years back through r/dogecoin, the Exception of reddit's norm. It's why I feel so at home here.

We're glad you are here. :) I'd enter the trenches on reddit. It sometimes felt like I was wading into a trench for warfare. It taught me some skills and I did benefit in some ways. I also learned things I will not do that are done there.

Name calling works though. Hatred is a far better motivator than love. Sometimes calling someone an idiot forces them to do more research on the topic. I'm not saying that's what you should of done in this case but It's just something to keep in mind.

Yeah I won't do that. For me if someone starts insulting me I feel like I won. If they have to resort to insults then they likely have nothing left in them. That may not be true, but that is my reaction to them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60856.28
ETH 2937.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44