You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Something I'd really like people to understand... disagreement is good. Don't so quickly consider it trolling.

in #philosophy7 years ago

The truth of the matter is when we speak with people we disagree with we likely will not completely flip to full on agreement with the other person. That actually shouldn't be the goal. It does happen but I think it is very rare, in fact it is almost freakish. Instead, both sides should hopefully leave with new perspectives, ideas, and ways of thinking that they didn't have prior to the exchange. That is a no losers type of discussion to me. Both sides came out of that as winners.

I also am not a fan of the world being pushed into the winners and losers false dichotomy. That is something I write about every so often. :)

I was using the internet before the term troll existed. We called them Flamers back then. We called a lot of their interactions as flame wars. Somewhere along the way they became called trolls instead. Same activity, different label.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56705.83
ETH 2400.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30